We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Smyrna, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I spent three nights while seeing the sites in and around D.C. and Mount Vernon.
Pros and Cons

Pros:
Friendly, sincere, helpful staff
Average to good free breakfast
Shuttle service when available (see cons as well)
Subway, McDonalds, Papa Johns, convenience store and local restaurants within walking distance
Clean and fairly quiet
Clean remotes are a great touch

Cons:
No taxi service this far out
Shuttle service wasn't available on the weekend because of no driver available
No shuttle service to Mount Vernon even though its a six minute drive
Safe in room should never cost extra - they are for the guest as well as protection of the housekeepers
Needs a new coat of vibrant paint

We stayed in two rooms 135 (two doubles) and 136 (king).
136 had air condition problems, but, when told the staff got right on it and fixed it with hours.

I would recommend an expanded shuttle service that includes pick-up from the Huntington Metro station in the morning as well. Shuttle service to Mount Vernon because of its so very close to the hotel. One more I would look into is an Old Alexandria shuttle. This one could simply be a reservation required or by request only. Maybe even charging a small fee for this particular service. These three amenities I believe would help picking up a few new customers.

Enjoyed our stay! Thanks

Room Tip: Ask about the shuttle and if they have other transportation options for guest. Taxis do not come thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We will certainly consider your thoughts on expanding shuttle service.
Taxi's do come to the hotel though,our staff would have been delighted to have assisted
in contacting the local cab service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    22
    13
    16
See reviews for
46
42
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Checked into hotel.
Asked hotel clerk if there was a good place to eat nearby.
I was out of room for LESS THAN TWO HOURS, only to return
to find someone had entered my room and stolen $130.

Nice!

Hotel clerk was no assistance.
Contacted local police and filed a report.

Hotel had monitors and security cameras set up for all over, yet hotel clerk refused to review the security tapes.

Not a good feeling here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmtv, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Jan,
I'd like to assure you we take customer complaints very seriously at our hotel.
The Front Desk agent on duty did not have access to review the security cameras, however I have, we also interogated the lock to your room for entry. No one entered your room after you checked in except you. This documentation has also been reviewed by the police dept.
We take the safety and security of our guests very seriously. If you are missing money, I'm truely sorry but it was not due to the staff or lack of security in the hotel.
We strive to provide the best in customer service with clean comfortable accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This property isn't the newest one on Richmond Highway, but it is conveniently located to Mt. Vernon, Old Alexandria, and The National Mall via the Metro Yellow Line. We stayed in Room 315 June 2-3, 2013, and were well-satisfied with the room at about $85/night average. The front desk people were helpful and friendly, with suggestions for restaurants and attractions. We don't usually take advantage of the included breakfast since we don't eat with plastic flatware or from styro plates, but the coffee was just fine and the food didn't look any worse than any other hotel of this class. As others have said, the hotel feels like it's in a safe location, though on a busy arterial. A solid three stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Best Western has clean, well appointed rooms. It was quiet and a full, hot breakfast is provided in its large breakfast area in the basement. Their shuttle service takes you down Richmond Highway to the Metro station, a short drive away. It was easy and convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful. Mount Vernon was less than 10 minutes away. Do not eat at any of the Chinese restaurants nearby. There are some very good restaurants five minutes north on Richmond Highway.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel where the tour buses parked but could not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed one night. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms are a little small but really clean and comfortable. The room had a frig. and microwave. The free breakfast buffet was really good with plenty of food. They have security cameras in the parking lot and in the hotel. We felt safe. No problems at all. Free wifi and free parking. Used their computer next to registration desk to print my airline boarding passes. DCA Ronald Regan airport an easy drive 12 miles away (20 minutes) at around 11 am although I was told it would take longer to get there if the flight was earlier in the day. Reasonably priced at a senior aarp discount of $85.00 including tax. I was told the hotel has a free airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Check for discounts codes offered before booking. AARP, AAA, government etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.