We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Killington, Vermont, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Short night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at 5:30 am and checked out by 10 am. Too late to get breakfast unfortunately. Even coffee gone. Beds very comfortable; ample pillows. Clean room decor: usual chain style ie nothing unusual. Good location for shopping and finding attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for shring your comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel location convenient. We hope to see you again on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    22
    13
    16
See reviews for
46
42
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location for those wanting to visit DC and don't mind driving downtown. Surprisingly decent hot breakfast (biscuits, eggs, gravy, waffles) and excellent service from the guy on the desk - I didn't get his name but he really helped us out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at this property. I chose it because it was less expensive than the hotels in the DC area; and close by Mount Vernon. It was clean enough.... and we had a comfortable room with 2 beds, microwave/frig on the 1st floor. Staff was very friendly. I only ate breakfast there one day, which was "okay"...but we just ate what we brought with us the other days. It is only 4 or 5 miles from Mount Vernon, which was convenient. We drove into DC every day to see the museums, monuments, etc. The hotel was not in the "best" of areas and no one could recommend eating at any the restaurants nearby. We found a Chipotle several miles away in another town; and closer to Alexandria, we ate at Chili's. The restaurant at Mount Vernon was wonderful though (good prices for lunch...pulled pork b-b-q sandwich was very good and they had the best fresh melon/fruit I have ever had.) Dinner menu and prices were a little bit on the steep side though...but not any more so than the restaurants and places in DC. On a side note: I did laundry at the hotel (which was on the 3rd floor...and it was hot and had a strong odor that I couldn't determine whether it was from some type of Indian food or something else.) The other floors were perfectly fine though. Laundry was $1.25 load to wash and $1.25 load to dry. We were out being tourists so much during the day, and really only there to sleep - it was nice and quiet and comfortable enough - so fit our needs. If you don't want to drive into DC - they do have a hotel shuttle available most days that will take you to the bus line...although, we didn't do that. If you read somewhere that the hotel offers complimentary tickets to Mount Vernon (which also helped me decide to stay here)...they no longer do that. When I tried to use the internet, I kept receiving messages that it was not secure...so you might want to watch that. If I am ever in the area again, it would just depend upon whether or not I found a better option before I would decide to stay again or not. But compared to DC prices and the heavy traffic in Alexandria and DC area... those are things to consider as well...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

BW Mount Vernon was very convenient for a visit to Mount Vernon, requiring only two left turns and then straight down the road to Mount Vernon. We had no issues, as this hotel had standard chain hotel quality rooms, with ample parking. The AAA rate was very good for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I arrived late and expected a quick check in. Not to be, the lady at the front desk was on the telephone and after 5 minutes, having realized I was getting a little tired of waiting, checked me in while holding her telephone conversation. Not a word was spoken between us, very unusual!! The room wasn't bad but the place itself needs a good clean and refurb. The linens were a bit rough looking and I wasn't convinced they were clean, the floor had "bits" on it. The bathroom was dark due to poor lighting, but clean. For the price, not bad but I expect better things from Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We apologize your stay was less than expected. Your experience is not typical of our hotel, be assured we are taking your feedback seriously and will use it to make any neccessary adjustments. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just off Route One and within 5 minutes of Mt. Vernon. Clean Rooms and Hotel, nice
Breakfast in the AM. Across the Hwy. from a Roy Rogers Restaurant, several ethnic
Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The sheets smelled like they hadn't been changed, actually smelled like sweat from someone (the towels did not smell like this, so it wasn't the detergent) .
The first day we got there, we had to go to the front and ask for a roll of toilet paper and that was before we had even stayed in the room, the roll barely had any on it and there was not an extra roll...
We left for the day and came back at 8pm and our room STILL was not serviced by the maid on the second day.We Actually got a phone call at 10PM asking if we wanted service or not!!!!!

I went to front counter because our cards were not working (on first day there), and asked the lady up front to fix the cards..........was NOT asked for ID, she had never seen me before and she just reprogrammed them. The only up side of the whole thing was they allowed early check in.

Overall horrible, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We apologize for the circumstances regarding your stay. This is not typical of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience. Please be assured we are taking measures to insure corrections are made were needed. We welcome the opportunity to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.