We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Mid-trip we changed plans so that we could spend a day in Alexandria. When trying to book a room the night before arriving, I found that every hotel I called was full. This hotel was my last option and it was definitely more than okay. The location was an easy 15 minute drive from Old Town Alexandria. The room was quiet, bed very comfortable, bath and bedroom spotless. The breakfast was more than acceptable and was served by an attentive and friendly staff person. We were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are please we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    30
    17
    17
See reviews for
58
50
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed during National Police Week. Far enough to get away from crowds but still close enough to get into DC fast. Clean property, helpful staff, and good location.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I found the hotel clean, quiet, helpful front desk, nicely furnished, and a nice hot breakfast. The star rating should be inceased from two to three.

Room Tip: Close to Historic Mount Vernon and the Mount Vernon Hospital for those visiting patients.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are please you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Chose motel due to its location, a relatively short drive to Mount Vernon mansion, and a five mile drive to Metro for a 20 minute trip to DC Mall. Since we were tourist, we were interested in a clean, affordable place to sleep and to this end, this motel was a good choice. Comfortable beds and pillows. Also served a hot breakfast buffet each morning. All areas were clean, and housekeeping service offered extra towels and daily cleaning.

Not everything for everybody however - the motel offered few amenities to someone staying for an extended period. No pool, hot-tub, and the firness room outdated. The bathroom are small, with sink in same room as shower. Bath tub could not be used for a bath due to no stopper. Sitting in the lobby, I heard staff communicating in Spanish and they weren't very communicative with directions. However, written directions were available for most areas of interest. Immediate surrounding area a busy highway with strip mall atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased that you found the hotel clean and affordable. We will use your additional feedback to make any neccessary adjustments. We appreciate your business and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Was able to book a last minute room - and this Best Western was GREAT! Staff was accomodating, friendly and helpful. The room so very quiet, clean and secure and I was able to sleep all nite! I had to leave at 4:00 the next day, and the staff booked a car to the airport. Would heartily recommend this anyone considering a convenient, great value hotel.

I'd love to see bagels added to the already ample breakfast bar! (Native New Yorker who misses home when she's on the East Coast!!!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate the fact that you would recommend our hotel to others. We are gald you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can stay again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel is on a commercial strip about 10 min from Mt. Vernon. Desk clerk was friendly and very helpful with local maps and recommendations re places to eat. Parking lot is on side of hotel opposite from rooms with king beds. Room was clean with medium-sized fridge and microwave, comfortable king bed, upholstered lounging chair, desk with leather chair, and decent bathroom with good hot water. Room heat was on for our January trip, and we had to turn it down because it was so strong. Breakfast menu, mentioned in another review, was varied and satisfying but not gourmet. Price in early part of week--- $123---inexplicably drops to $85 for later part of week. Except for price fluctuation, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear flicker55,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. We booked a Potomac River Boat Cruise Package. They made the arrangements for our tour. The room was typical, clean, but nothing special. We chose this hotel for its easy access to Mt. Vernon. The complimentary breakfast was better than many. If you are planning a visit to Mt. Vernon, I would recommend staying here. It was only about a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear tamis3angels, Thank You for writing a review about your stay. We are glad to hear you had a chance to visit Mount Vernon estates along with the Potomac boat tour. We look forward to accommodating you again at Best Western Mount Vernon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 50 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.