We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Dixie Pig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaso's Kitchen

Vaso's Kitchen
1225 Powhatan St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1305
703-548-2747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not Dixie Pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very good restaurant of authentic and creative Greek dishes in an intimate and romantic setting. The owner is ever present and it shows.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    52
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly the best piece of Greece !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Vaso and her entire staff conduct a symphony for the palette. They created the most memorable and delicious experience I have had in a long time. There staff is first class. The food is unforgettable and has you keep coming back for more. The fresh veal and fish dishes are incredible. Try the veal voldastana!!! Even the basics like her Italian dish of eggplant Parmesan transforms you to the Italian countryside. Vaso is a master chef and rivals any in the DC area and beyone. Five stars!!!
I own the design firm a block away and am dangerously close to this place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but not the top Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Vaso's is certainly a popular place. Keeping up the food quality consistently is not easy, and they seem to be able to do so. However, this should not be thought of as quite the ultimate in Greek food. It won't match Spiro's North in the Saint Louis area, it won't match Pegasus in Detroit. Still, it's worth a visit for the food and the atmosphere.

Vaso's starts with bread with olive oil. It would help if they would have fresh ground pepper, a more flavorful extra virgin olive oil to offer with the bread, and a better bread selection. There are certainly a number of good bakeries in the area that could supply better bread.

The salads are rather small in size, and should be more Greek, with some olives and feta.

The lightly coated flounder was good, fresh fish, the coating not excessive, and cooked about right. A few more fresh vegetables would enhance the flounder, and it could have used a little less oil.

The classic gyro platter was good, but it should have had more vegetables (lettuce, olives, more tomato, and some crispy vegetables) to eat with the gyro meat and pita bread. The tzatziki sauce was good, although it could have used some yogurt.

The baklava was very good. Vaso makes the baklava a little differently, using more walnut than most bakers, and the result is a slightly more walnut experience with the baklava.

It would also be nice to have a better selection of tea.

This is certainly not meant to be whining. You'll likely enjoy yourself at Vaso's, but you should remember that there is significant opportunity for improvement. I rate it 4 on the scale that we seem to use for TripAdvisor. If we were looking at a more competitive group of Greek restaurants, the food might rate only a 3.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and always great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I have been to Vaso's numerous times and have never been dissapointed. The stuffed shrimp with crabmeat is always consistent and delicious! The stuffed veal or flounder are also phenomenal and I can go on with the carbonara...Every dish we have tried never dissapointed us. The pizza is always sure to please. My husband and I have gone in the summer and sat outside and it was delightful. I was just there with the family and ate indoors and the ambiance is cozy and very friendly. Give it a try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A piece of Ouranos in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If Leonidas was alive he would be eating at Vasos's Kitchen. If you haven't eat here yet, you just don't know Greek food. Vaso's Kitchen is easily the finest Greek restaurant in Alexandria; is fun, different, and authentically Greek. The combination of ambiance, quantity, friendly and festive atmosphere are in harmony with the food quality; and the owner, Johnny, makes sure that the service and attention to detail is always over the top. Whether you are a red-tag guy like me or a highly sophisticated chap, you will feel at home here. It is a small but charming treat with fine food, wines, and a service to match. No trendy prices or attitudes. All of the food, without exception; is splendid and to die for, but the stuffed veal chop is simply ORGASMIC! The desserts, in the highly improbable event you have room for it after the meal, are a trip to "Ouranos". And yes, the prices are built for any budget. See you there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaso's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Vaso's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaso's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.