We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the top Greek restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaso's Kitchen

Vaso's Kitchen
1225 Powhatan St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1305
703-548-2747
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 639 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but not the top Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Vaso's is certainly a popular place. Keeping up the food quality consistently is not easy, and they seem to be able to do so. However, this should not be thought of as quite the ultimate in Greek food. It won't match Spiro's North in the Saint Louis area, it won't match Pegasus in Detroit. Still, it's worth a visit for the food and the atmosphere.

Vaso's starts with bread with olive oil. It would help if they would have fresh ground pepper, a more flavorful extra virgin olive oil to offer with the bread, and a better bread selection. There are certainly a number of good bakeries in the area that could supply better bread.

The salads are rather small in size, and should be more Greek, with some olives and feta.

The lightly coated flounder was good, fresh fish, the coating not excessive, and cooked about right. A few more fresh vegetables would enhance the flounder, and it could have used a little less oil.

The classic gyro platter was good, but it should have had more vegetables (lettuce, olives, more tomato, and some crispy vegetables) to eat with the gyro meat and pita bread. The tzatziki sauce was good, although it could have used some yogurt.

The baklava was very good. Vaso makes the baklava a little differently, using more walnut than most bakers, and the result is a slightly more walnut experience with the baklava.

It would also be nice to have a better selection of tea.

This is certainly not meant to be whining. You'll likely enjoy yourself at Vaso's, but you should remember that there is significant opportunity for improvement. I rate it 4 on the scale that we seem to use for TripAdvisor. If we were looking at a more competitive group of Greek restaurants, the food might rate only a 3.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    90
    35
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and always great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I have been to Vaso's numerous times and have never been dissapointed. The stuffed shrimp with crabmeat is always consistent and delicious! The stuffed veal or flounder are also phenomenal and I can go on with the carbonara...Every dish we have tried never dissapointed us. The pizza is always sure to please. My husband and I have gone in the summer and sat outside and it was delightful. I was just there with the family and ate indoors and the ambiance is cozy and very friendly. Give it a try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A piece of Ouranos in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If Leonidas was alive he would be eating at Vasos's Kitchen. If you haven't eat here yet, you just don't know Greek food. Vaso's Kitchen is easily the finest Greek restaurant in Alexandria; is fun, different, and authentically Greek. The combination of ambiance, quantity, friendly and festive atmosphere are in harmony with the food quality; and the owner, Johnny, makes sure that the service and attention to detail is always over the top. Whether you are a red-tag guy like me or a highly sophisticated chap, you will feel at home here. It is a small but charming treat with fine food, wines, and a service to match. No trendy prices or attitudes. All of the food, without exception; is splendid and to die for, but the stuffed veal chop is simply ORGASMIC! The desserts, in the highly improbable event you have room for it after the meal, are a trip to "Ouranos". And yes, the prices are built for any budget. See you there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

If you want great Greek/Italian food with Mediterranean flare this is the place for you. Try the artichoke or the veal volistania there amazing .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great dining local style? Check out Vaso's Kitchen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Vaso's Kitchen is a charming, small restaurant packed with friendly servers, happy diners and wonderful food at very reasonable prices. It's the kind of place where they'll know your name and what you like to eat and drink after you've visited a time or two. My dinner of lamb shank was absolutely heavenly, and my companion's shrimp dish was equally as good. We drank the house (Greek) red wine, which was reasonably-priced and complimented the food nicely. I liked the place so much that I wanted to eat there every night of my stay in Alexandria! The place is definitely a locals haunt, but even visitors will feel right at home in Vaso's Kitchen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaso's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Vaso's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaso's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.