We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning next weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan

Cosmopolitan
7770 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22306 (Huntington)
703 360 3660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huntington
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Returning next weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We hadn't been here for more than a year but made it back for lunch on Saturday and it was divine! Best weiner schniztel (better than even in Vienna) and lovely bread with dipping sauce. But the surprise was the Bosnian Burger, a grilled meat patty which is really like a shashlik. Home made bread/roll grilled and topped with creamy sauce, fresh opnions, lovely salad.
Thanks again! Will pre-order the Burek for our next lunch. Dying to try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you are craving meat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Family owned restaurant - very friendly and great service! The food is really delicious and well seasoned. The meat is delicious, ... I was just disappointed because they took the German noodle dish off the menu, and I enjoyed it because sometimes I don't want to join my husband in a meat-fest! But, it's a great little place, and is available for room rental or for large tables. They have a nice bar, too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Serving up some great Bosnian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the outside, it doesn't look very appealing. It is right next to a gold's gym. The interior is better, although I wouldn't say this place has a lot of ambiance. What it does have, however, is some great Bosnian food. We've tried the Cevapcici appetizer, which is essentially, homemade sausage links served with a roasted pepper dipping sauce, we thought it was good. They also served some homemade Bosnian bread and homemade butter. We had the Jaeger Schnitzel with a side of spaetzle. It was delicious. For desert we shared the House Cake. It was moist and hit the spot. Overall, we had a great experience and recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is terrific and very popular amoung the locals. A great feat for a place when you consider the huge range of choices we have is this area! I visit this place often and have never been disappointed in the food. It is a family run business with the Bosnian owners on site . They are friendly and hard working and turn out a great product. The menu sticks to what they know and do best and their grilled meats have a wonderful flavor--not sure what they do but it is great. They have the best, fresh house salad I think I have ever had. Simple ingredients but high on flavor. The atmosphere is cozy and at night has a warm feeling to it especially when they dim the lights a bit. Good place for a date. They even sell a homemade chocolate cake made by the owner herself. This is also a favorite spot for the lunch crowd . They support the local schools by having a guitar night once a month using students from the local high school, part of the proceeds going to support that program. I suggest a reservation on weekends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“I expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am not sure whether to give it 3 or 4 stars. I heard about this place serving grilled meat from former Yugoslavia/the Balkans and wanted to try it. It was a long detour from Washington DC and I was expecting that it would be worth it.The owner is from Bosnia. I expected cevapcici and raznjici to taste more authentic as well as the homemade bread lepinja. Instead of famous clotted cream kajmak, the bread came with too much of plain sour cream. The German dishes, schnitzels such as Jaeger and Wiener were overpriced. This type of food is supposed to be cheaper. The interior is so-so. The staff is okay. They even sell some Milka chocolate bars. Haven't tried the desert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmopolitan also viewed

 

Been to Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.