We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local custard shop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dairy Godmother

The Dairy Godmother
2310 Mount Vernon Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
703 683-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 665 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local custard shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I love this place and their custard. It's a local joint with great custard. One flavor of the day (normally) and then several sorbet flavors. Mozambique is my favorite. Can't wait to have another cone.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Frozen Custard Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I absolutely loved the frozen custard ice cream. I got chocolate and coconut cream and both were rich and fantastic. This has got to be the best I have ever tasted and I love ice cream. The long lines are well worth it. I am going to make it a point to visit this shop every time I visit Alexandria!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great custard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved the custard and the fact that they had not only the standard vanilla and chocolate, but also had strawberry custard. Doggie ice cream for sale was an added bonus. We didn't try the hard serve ice cream, but there were lots of options. The line was a little long, but it moved quickly. We will definitely visit again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming decor. Ordinary Custard.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Heard a lot of good things about the custard here so decided to check it out on a weekend. There was a long line inside the store but was moving fairly quickly. They have several items on the menu, but custard and sherbet seem to be specialities. The atmosphere is very casual and you can tell the locals love this place.

I went with the fudge brownie sundae. They load it up with lots of brownies and give you a good amount for how much you pay. However, I didn't find the custard to be anything out of the ordinary. My friend ordered the strawberry rhubarb pie + scoop of custard and also though it was average.

It may be worth stopping by if you're in the Del Ray area, but don't have high expectations.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's a strong competitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you like frozen custard and you know about Carl's in Fredericksburg, you will love this place. It's got everything Carl's has and you don't have to wait for over an hour to drive down 95 to get to Carl's because this place is in Del Ray.
My daughter and I got the frozen custard and it was just as good if not better than Carl's and to me, Carl's is the place to beat. And yes, you'll have a line to get in just like Carl's BUT for those of you who are digital $$ folks, The Dairy Godmother takes CREDIT CARDS!!!
You gotta go. I'm going back. I'm in heaven without having to be in a traffic jam going to Fredericksburg!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dairy Godmother also viewed

 

Been to The Dairy Godmother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dairy Godmother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.