We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Small Portions and Limited Flavors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dairy Godmother

The Dairy Godmother
2310 Mount Vernon Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
703 683-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but Small Portions and Limited Flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went out of our way to search for this establishment after reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were surprised at the limited flavors available and small portions. The custard was good but not sure what all the raving is about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best custard and/or ice cream within 500 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well, I have not tasted every single ice cream option within 500 miles, but this is the best stuff outside of Mass or Wisconsin you will get. It is certainly the best thing inside the beltway. We drive from upper NW DC all the time, just for a cone...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We left Old Town to travel to this section of town just for this place. The employees are so nice and keep the line moving quickly. We got there just before a mad rush and the line was wrapped all through the inside of the place. Custard was ok, but I found it annoying that people kept bumping into our chairs due to the crowds and there were flies everywhere from the door being constantly opened. Custard was ok, but not worth the hassle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best frozen treat in Nothern Virginia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the best frozen custard I've ever had. The line is almost always out the door, but it moves quickly and serves as a true testament to the deliciousness. They have a variety of fantastic sorbets, popsicles, and baked goods, but really it's all about the custard. Typically there are only three custard flavors (vanilla, chocolate, and a flavor of the day), but don't let that scare you away! The frozen custard is sooooooo rich and creamy that it doesn't really matter which flavor you get. You will be impressed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited here for dessert after lunch in Old town Alexandria. The ice cream choices are limited, but very tasty, I had the lemon- herb sorbet ad the raspberry sorbet. Both were excellent. The others in my party had the mocha chocolate ice cream. If you have a dog, they also have frozen treats for them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dairy Godmother also viewed

 

Been to The Dairy Godmother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dairy Godmother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.