We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Little, Too Much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dairy Godmother

The Dairy Godmother
2310 Mount Vernon Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
703 683-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too Little, Too Much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

High prices for, in my opinion, ordinary ice cream custard. However, locals seem to like it as they wait patiently in a queu for their purchase.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fresh frozen custard with sooo many toppings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is not a pretentious 'ice cream' parlor. They serve three different flavors of frozen custard and a few other frozen treats. I had the chocolate, one friend ordered the vanilla and another ordered a combo of the vanilla and almond. You can see the custard coming freshly churned into a receptacle. As a result the custard you get is a little on the runny side.
My chocolate was served with heath bar. And this is no heath bar dusting. There were literally CHUNKS of heath bar on my custard. They didn't skimp. My friend who ordered the almond/vanilla said almond was too subtle for his tastes. It tasted to him like they ground up a few almonds and added it to the vanilla, calling it almond.
The tables were clean enough inside. There is no seating outside, but many people grab a dish and enjoy the Del Ray neighborhood outside.
This was a fun activity for me to do with my friends, but I wouldn't make a special trip just to enjoy the custard. It's not THAT good

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Wisconsin in Metropolitan Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Yes, you can get frozen custard with a Wisconsin touch here in Washington. The Dairy Godmother fulfills its promise to provide you with a memorable dessert in the Del Ray area of Alexandria. There are usually three regular flavors with a few specials everyday. A waffle cone that holds two or three scoops is the best way to be assured that you have sampled the full range of flavors. The lines are usually long and any seating difficult to find so adjourn to the front benches on a pleasant afternoon or evening and enjoy the sights and sounds of pedestrians on Mount Vernon Avenue. A warning about the staff -- It is not clear why the servers at DG have difficulty making eye contact and smiling. Perhaps they have been scared by a Wisconsin badger or are trying to embody the snow and ice of a north country winter. Go for the ice cream and forget about the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ever since moving to Del Ray, I've seen the crowds coming in and out of this store with delicious-looking ice cream. Finally tried it yesterday. Yes, the ice cream was good, but there was little else about the experience that would move me to return. Can someone not try to teach service employees that a friendly smile (instead of a glare) will do wonders for making customer want to purchase something and then return again. First time customers may need a little help with the options; if you give it to them cheerfully, they'll be grateful. If you treat them like a gigantic waste of time, it leaves a bad taste. So yes, service was surly and portions were skimpy for the price paid. I was really hoping to be impressed by this place and make it a regular stop.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't be scared - it's delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're more of an ice cream person, don't worry... frozen custard is just a better version of ice cream! I had a chocolate custard in a waffle cone, and it was outstanding. Also had a chance to sample the blood orange sorbet and that was also delicious.

Flavors change constantly, so you can always try something new. The line will be long on hot summer days and nights, and there isn't a lot of room to wait. Since it's Virginia, your treat will melt quickly in the summertime, so be prepared to eat fast!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dairy Godmother also viewed

 

Been to The Dairy Godmother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dairy Godmother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.