We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas restaurant - perfect for those on a low carb diet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca

La Tasca
607 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 299-9810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tasca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 610 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: King Street Metro (Yellow & Blue Lines) Also, take advantage of the King Street Trolley, a free trolley from the King Street metro stop all the way to the harbor. We are located between Washington Street and St Asaph Street.
Description: La Tasca is a careful blend of everything about Spain—warm décor, authentic cuisine and friendly hospitality.With a combination of many tapas dishes, paellas, sangria blends and Spanish wines and beers, La Tasca has something for everyone.We strive to keep the Spanish culture and passion alive in our restaurants
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tapas restaurant - perfect for those on a low carb diet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I went to La Tasca on July 1, 2014 with group of four. It was the evening of the USA-Belgium World Cup match, and when we went in there was a large and vocal crowd in the bar area. It quickly dispersed once the game was over. We chose La Tasca because two of us had recently started a low-carb diet and the menu offered a great variety of items that worked with the diet (items marked GF on the menu are gluten free).

We started with the charchuterie and cheese board. The hams and sausages were great and the cheeses were outstanding especially the tetilla and montenebro which I was not familiar with. We bravely resisted the rustic bread and rosemary crackers that accompanied the boards.

We then split the kale salad with chorizo and the spinach salad with pears and walnuts. I particularly like the spinach salad.

Next we had the grilled asparagus, the grilled calamari, quail escabeche and the grilled angus sirloin. All were really good. Everyone loved the steak and quail. My wife did not care for the texture of the squid but I really enjoyed it. I loved the way it was presented, complete with ink on a bed of onions and peppers.


The portions were larger then I am used to at tapas restaurants. We were easily able to get four tasting portions out of every dish and usually there was enough left over to give another bite to whomever liked the dish the most. The salads were the size of a normal restaurant side -salad. Plus the dishes were served in a method that made it easy to share. For example, the quail was divided into 4 pieces, the steak was sliced, the charcuterie board came with 5 pieces of each meat and the squid was scored to make it easy to cut.

The only negative was that it was a bit over warm in the dining room. It was 95 degrees outside and I think the large soccer-watching crowd contributed to an increase in the ambient temperature.

The total bill was $140 before tip and that included one drink each and two bottles of sparkling water.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    100
    24
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Love this place! Come here every time we visit Alexandria. The food and wine are fantastic. I'm drooling just thinking about it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Tapas Place in Old Town Alexandria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

During a recent pleasure trip to the Washington DC area, we stayed in Alexandria (VA) while visiting some well known landmarks like George Washington's Mount Vernon, and we found this establishment through a hotel promotion. Since we love Spanish food and the tapas concept, we went and were very happy with the result: super authentic tapas at reasonable prices, especially during the daily 4-7 pm Happy Hour (mostly $4: wines and select tapas). So we returned a second time and all in all, we tried 8 tapas of all varieties and can attest to that they were of the highest quality.

With the soccer World Cup in progress, we were also thrilled to watch the games on a huge projection screen, a welcome departure from traditional US sports like baseball - it is nice to see a European place paying homage to true football (sorry, but "American football" should be called something else, because real football originates from Europe!).

If you find yourself in Old Town Alexandria, don't miss the "scoring opportunity" of having tapas at La Tasca! Better than a 7th inning "home run"!

And since you may wonder: I'm not even close to being Spanish since I'm Swedish - but I love Spain and its people and food and I take every chance enjoying it while traveling!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A bit of Espana stateside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We dined here while visiting the DC area and it was a great experience. We did the tapas sampler menu and enjoyed all of the selections as well as the half price wines on Wed! The service was also a highlight - just the right amount of attention and tapas coming out in a stream.

We really enjoyed the flamenco show and it was a highlight of our trip. We'd certainly try this again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went on a night during World Cup, so it was quite crowded and noisy, but enjoyed our meal. Sardines and bacon wrapped tenderloin were two favorites. Only complaint is, it was really cold inside and all dishes were brought out at the same time so you had to eat very fast to avoid things getting cold.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca also viewed

 

Been to La Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.