We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Patent and Trademark Museum

U.S. Patent and Trademark Museum
600 Dulany St., Alexandria, VA (Eisenhower East)
571-272-0095
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 69 things to do in Alexandria
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A unique museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The US Patent and Trademark building is beautiful. This is a very unique and interesting museum that pretty much affects everyone and the neat gadgets they own.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

While we were in Washington, D.C for Thanksgiving we decided to visit the U.S Patent and Trademark Office. This museum is in the Patent and Trademark building, which is pretty cool. The museum is a little small but still full of information. There is interactive stuff to play with as well as videos to watch. When you are done, there is a well stocked gift shop to purchase a souvenir from.

Along with the museum, while we were there they had a great exhibit on the first floor of the building commemorating Steve Job(R.I.P). It was probably 30 giant iPhones that had Apple Inc.'s Patent's and Trademark's in them. Lastly, you can fill out some paperwork and get a free badge that allows you to look through the records in the Patent and Trademark Office. Overall it was a great experience!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Minimalist!...Disappointed in the experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The building housing the museum is awesome and worth taking a look while there. HOWEVER the museum itself is the size of a gift shop...which has a gift shop in it. Minimum tiny exhibits and presentations.
No exhibits jumped out at me that shouted "Wow or Cool." I was disappointed in the experience. Would NOT go again.

Parking can be difficult.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I visited this "museum" last week. It only has one theme per year in a small space -- with a gift shop, of course. If you are in the area and have less than 1 hour to kill, then maybe this is worth a visit. We were able to walk there from our hotel, so at least we hadn't gone to a big effort to get there. The DC/Alexandria area has many more interesting sites to see than this.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great free museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Small and off the beaten path, the US Patent and Trademark museum is close to the metro at King Street. It is a great diversion off the normal tourist path and offers rotating exhibits. Add in a stop in Old Town with plenty of eating establishments and other activities.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Patent and Trademark Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Patent and Trademark Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Patent and Trademark Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.