We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park, not well maintained!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ward Museum and Park

Fort Ward Museum and Park
4301 West Braddock Road, Alexandria, VA 22304
703 838 4848
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums
Attraction Details
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice park, not well maintained!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This park is a nice place for a picnic.
It is not well maintained by the City however!
Can also be very loud at times!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Our group had an event at the park and it was perfect for us. Bathrooms could be better kept but overall it was a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
220 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“NICE LITTLE CIVIL WAR FORT WITH PICNIC AND WALKING AND JOGGING AREAS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have been going to Fort Ward for years. It is a good place to jog, walk the dog, cook in embedded outdoor grills, or to enjoy some music on Thursday night in the summer. The park, which has nearly 50 acres, is an old Union fort that was designed to protect the parameter of Washington DC. There are a few civil war batteries in the park and there is a small museum that has infrequent hours but some history on the park and area. The park is generally well maintained and parking is available in at least 4 locations. Traffic through the park is limited in peak times such as the weekend and summer. Periodically, events occur there such as civil war enactments. It is not otherwise a destination for out of town tourists. It is instead a place for people living in DC area who need to get out of their apartments, condos, or homes and exercise or cook outdoors in a nice, clean environment.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is one of the finest small museums I've ever been into - well-selected and displayed materials, and a terrific local flavor to them. The Elmer Ellsworth materials on display were great (he was the friend of the Lincoln family who was shot down very early in 1861 after teraing down a Confederate flag from a hotel across the river in Alexandria VA).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Place to Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

After traveling with our young daughter to the DC area, we took our second day in town to regroup and relax.

We found this quaint park a lovely place to spend a couple hours relaxing and eating a slice of delicious pistachio cake we had gotten from a wonderful Mediterranean Bakery and Cafe in Alexandria.

The museum is small but well kept. There are interesting civil war items on display as well as helpful background information.

We loved how easy it was to get to this location as well as how quiet it was when we got there. Several folks were out walking their dogs or running on the outskirts of the fort area.

A great spot to enjoy the sunshine and get away from the crowds!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ward Museum and Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ward Museum and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ward Museum and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Ward Museum and Park to your Saves list