We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place to Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ward Museum and Park

Fort Ward Museum and Park
4301 West Braddock Road, Alexandria, VA 22304
703 838 4848
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 70 things to do in Alexandria
Attraction details
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Place to Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

After traveling with our young daughter to the DC area, we took our second day in town to regroup and relax.

We found this quaint park a lovely place to spend a couple hours relaxing and eating a slice of delicious pistachio cake we had gotten from a wonderful Mediterranean Bakery and Cafe in Alexandria.

The museum is small but well kept. There are interesting civil war items on display as well as helpful background information.

We loved how easy it was to get to this location as well as how quiet it was when we got there. Several folks were out walking their dogs or running on the outskirts of the fort area.

A great spot to enjoy the sunshine and get away from the crowds!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Historic and a nice park...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

One of the forts that defneded Washington during the Civil War... A very nice place to visit, with information about the historic nature and function of the Fort... Excellent for a picnic too... Usually quiet in a very nice setting...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Standing in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you love America, visit all the historical spots in Alexandria. At Fort Ward you will find a new appreciation for the struggles that we have faced as a nation. It is an incredibly emotional visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Little Piece of History Nestled in Suburban Alexandria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I would bet that most people drive past Fort Ward and never give it a second thought.

The Fort was one of several constructed by Union Forces during the Civil War to protect Washington D.C. from Confederate attack. Only Fort Ward and maybe one or two others still exist in some form or another.

The earthen walls can still be seen, though not as imposing as they might have once been, but you can still see how the fort was laid out and some parts of it are better preserved than others. The fort also has several examples of cannon available to see.

The museum at Fort Ward is nice and has some good items to view.

Aside from the history, the fort offers a walking trail, some picnic tables and plenty of parking. Be on the lookout for special events, such as the one we went to in December, which was a Christmas in the Civil War event. Reenactors were there to explain how the cannon were used, the small arms used, uniforms, how Christmas was celebrated, etc.

The park is free, though donations are encouraged.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lots of open space!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We enjoyed our two-hour trip here. Lots of green space. I imagine the park has been hit by some heavy usage, as there were signs asking us to keep to the paths and stay off the cannons.

Small playground at the bottom of a hill.

It was a nice visit. Come here to connect with history, not nature.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ward Museum and Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ward Museum and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ward Museum and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.