We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A park along the freeway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Run Regional Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cameron Run Regional Park
4001 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314
703 960 0767
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Water Parks
Attraction Details
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A park along the freeway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Running right next to the Capital Beltway Interstate 495 you can't hear yourself think, but it also has Great Waves swim park there in summer. That is a good time for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great running/walking/biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The park itself is small, but easily accessible and not very crowded most days. The oats are well maintained and lead to parks for children. It is pleasant to walk along the Cameron Run waterway between you and the 495 expressway, it is a bit of nature where you wouldn't expect it! Easy for exercise when staying at any number of the long stay hotels nearby, Holiday Inn, Springhill Suites, Homestead Suites and Marriott Resident Inn.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Went recently with my son. We had an amazing time. The wave pool is a lot of fun. The kids fun playhouse where they have slides and climbing spaces (not sure what they officially call it) was also enjoyed for several hours. Big slides also fun but we were too scared to try the two really steep slides that looked like they were awesome fun for teenagers. The pools were all clean. Food for sale was fine -- ice cream, french fries, etc. the usual stuff. The only thing that was not so great was the main bathroom -- a bit yucko but this is a public pool and the bathroom was on par with the other public pools around. Not sure why but they're damp with wet floors and smell a bit.

Overall experience was great. Also played mini golf.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ok for Children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The reason I gave this park 3 stars is becuase my daughter did enjoy herself and as others say, this is run by Northern VA, not a private business. We went this past Saturday, one of the hottest days of the summer. The place was extremely crowded and pools were very very dirty there was stuff floating everywhere and I even stepped on something, not sure what it was. I'm guessing because of the heat and the amount of people the water in all pools was luke warm. I'm not sure if this is how it is all of the time, but the type of people there...I don't want to offend anyone but just to describe, there was trash everywhere (a dirty diaper left on the side of the wave pool!), rude pushy people who butt in front of you, disorderly children who's parents just laughed (one group of kids were literally fighting in the pool hitting each other, I had to move my daugher several times to get out of their way in fear of being hit by one). The food is a bit overpriced, but its too be expected and its not even near the prices of six flags or other parks. But beware, as I said, rude adults are ready to jump in front of you in line so you have to be ready! The place is so *** when we were leaving two grown women almost literally fought each other in the parking lot like it was a night club, except there were multiple children around! They were cursing and screaming at each other wanting either one to throw the first punch, yes while holding the hands of very young children. There are really nice water slides but my daughter and I only rode 3 times, the lines were not that long but moved extremely slow and it was just too hot to stand in line, especially as I said, groups of young kids would come and just butt in front of us.

I guess basically if you are a local, and wanting to get out of the heat, it may be a nice place to spend a few hours and take a dip in the pool. but we traveled an hour an a half away and intended to stay all day. I was ready to leave within a few hours. Kids don't care about cleanliness and pushy people so they will have a blast but adults beware.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Place - Don't take your kids”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Save your money and go to other parks. Six flags may cost more, but you get much more plus some customer service at six flags, and it is about the same drive from DC, The worst customer service, the worst food, worst bathrooms, and the list goes on...

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Run Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Cameron Run Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Run Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cameron Run Regional Park to your Saves list