We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
6 King St, Olde Towne, Alexandria, VA 22314-3227 (Old Town)
703-548-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Tupelo, Mississippi
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A return visit after several years. Always stroll Ole Town when in town visiting family. We had a delicious lunch. Portions very adequare for lunch. Attentive service and food was hot. Will return on another trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    72
    30
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, not great, food. Poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, not that great. Good location and ambience, but the food was only OK (my Ka Pow was not spicy at all, calamari was good but not great, etc). And the service was terrible. Appetizers brought out after main dish, drink orders forgot (and then delivered to the wrong table), very little follow up. Just really poor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Always good and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for several years, I'm pretty picky about Thai food. We've tried every Thai restaurant in Old Town and Mai Thai is definitely the best. They have a great location with lots of tables upstairs, downstairs and outside. Their dishes are always authentic, good and come out quickly. We've taken guests there several time. The location is fantastic -- right on the waterfront and across from the Trolley stop, which is good when we have guests who have trouble walking long distances. If you want Thai food, this is the place to go on King St.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

i love to say that the food here is great! The view of the Potomac river is awesome especially during the evening. I love the green curry and Thai Tea. The only problem is sometimes there are too many people and you have to wait forever to get a table. But the turn over and service are pretty quick, it's the amount of people that go. I love this place in VA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Good Thai food! Perfect location near harbor. Friendly staff. We had the Cashew chicken, fried spring rolls and Mai Thai fried rice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.