We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
6 King St, Olde Towne, Alexandria, VA 22314-3227 (Old Town)
703-548-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Always good and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for several years, I'm pretty picky about Thai food. We've tried every Thai restaurant in Old Town and Mai Thai is definitely the best. They have a great location with lots of tables upstairs, downstairs and outside. Their dishes are always authentic, good and come out quickly. We've taken guests there several time. The location is fantastic -- right on the waterfront and across from the Trolley stop, which is good when we have guests who have trouble walking long distances. If you want Thai food, this is the place to go on King St.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    64
    26
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

i love to say that the food here is great! The view of the Potomac river is awesome especially during the evening. I love the green curry and Thai Tea. The only problem is sometimes there are too many people and you have to wait forever to get a table. But the turn over and service are pretty quick, it's the amount of people that go. I love this place in VA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Good Thai food! Perfect location near harbor. Friendly staff. We had the Cashew chicken, fried spring rolls and Mai Thai fried rice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the food and drinks that are served at this establishment. The prices are also very affordable in comparison to other places in the area. The service needs a little help...our waiter was not very proactive on getting us drinks(alcohol)...I'm sure the owner would not be happy with that!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, but better Thai elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location is great, but there are so many better choices in Old Town to dine. For Thai food, go to Rice & Noodles on Franconia Road in Alexandria.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

 
 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.