We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Luck if you want to visit Woodlawn!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House

Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House
9000 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309
+1 703-780-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 69 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two houses on the property: 1. Woodlawn is a house that was built on George Washington's property for his step-granddaughter Nelly and her husband Lawrence. Starting off as 2,000 acre plantation built in 1800, the house went through a number of interesting owners before becoming the first site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. 2. Frank Lloyd Wright is practically a household name these days, but this small Usonian house was a unique design of his. Originally built in 1940 in Falls Church, VA; this house is a true example of preservation-in-action!
south jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Luck if you want to visit Woodlawn!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We attempted to visit the Woodlawn plantation after a year of renovations on Monday March 26th. The DC area had a "major" snowstorm of about a half of an inch. We visited Woodlawn at 10:30AM with the hope of taking a tour. We were greeted by a worker who was shoveling the large amount of snow. She informed us the mansion was closed until 12:00PM. She informed us this was due to their schedule which follows the Fairfax count yschool system schedule. Has anyone heard of this type of a schedule? We live in NJ and have looked forward to visiting the mansion for over a year. We will attempt to visit again when the weather is perfect.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank murphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another superior example of Wright's imagination and vision! This Usonian house has an interesting history -- it's been physically moved twice, first because of the construction of an interstate highway and second because of the soil onto which it was moved. The house is small but is design is imaginative. Our tour guide for the Pope-Leighey house was excellent and clearly was enthusiastic about being able o be a guide. The guided tour is about 30 minutes (and there is a tour every 30 minutes).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the Frank-o-phile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you love the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, this is a definite destination. It's tucked away in a wooded area, with the surrounding landscape preserved to compliment the building. The size of this house is surprisingly small but would best be described as cozy and intimate. It isn't hard to imagine this as your hideaway in the mountains! It's on a property known as Woodlawn which has additional architecture and grounds to discover. The property once belonged to George Washington and was part of the Mt. Vernon estate. It was given to his nephew. The Georgian/Federal mansion was built by the architect of the U.S. Capitol. It is the first historic site of the National Trust. Events and lectures are on the calendar. Open March- mid December.
Good for families with older children, friends or on your own.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
877 reviews
677 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Lotta History and Connections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Note: I wrote a separate review of the Pope-Leighey House. This was my second or third visit to this lovely old home (visited it as a child with my parents). It seems to have gotten smaller but maybe I just grew up. The fascination with this home comes with the connection to George Washington and the turmoil that took place there during the Revolutionary War. The house is well maintained and the guides are very friendly. They have numerous piece of Washington's from the division of his estate, which just adds to the charm of this place. The grounds are lovely (though my most recent visit was in December thus not much to see) and you have the added bonus of the Pope-Leighey House being on the grounds. Go and see it and take a step back in time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
877 reviews
677 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Cabin the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I lucked out by getting to this house right before it closed for the season, plus I had the house all to myself, which was extra nice. It is a quaint, closet size home, moved to its current location to save it from distraction. Built in the traditional Usonian style which FLW is known for. It is hard to imagine someone living in the small little space, but all the same I would have loved to have tried it out. They have some of the original furniture on display, but most of it is in storage to protect it from damage. Don't worry though they have replicas in place so you get the true experience. One of their guides is a woodworker that makes exact copies of Frank Lloyd Wright pieces. My guide was more than willing to answer all my questions even general FLW ones. It is on the grounds of Woodlawn Plantation and I recommend that you opted for the combo ticket to see both homes. It is nice to see the contrast between Colonial Manor and Innovative Modernism before it was modern..... Enjoy!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House also viewed

 

Been to Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing