We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House

Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House
9000 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309
703 780 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic home of Martha Washington's granddaughter given as a wedding present by President George Washington.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another superior example of Wright's imagination and vision! This Usonian house has an interesting history -- it's been physically moved twice, first because of the construction of an interstate highway and second because of the soil onto which it was moved. The house is small but is design is imaginative. Our tour guide for the Pope-Leighey house was excellent and clearly was enthusiastic about being able o be a guide. The guided tour is about 30 minutes (and there is a tour every 30 minutes).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“For the Frank-o-phile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you love the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, this is a definite destination. It's tucked away in a wooded area, with the surrounding landscape preserved to compliment the building. The size of this house is surprisingly small but would best be described as cozy and intimate. It isn't hard to imagine this as your hideaway in the mountains! It's on a property known as Woodlawn which has additional architecture and grounds to discover. The property once belonged to George Washington and was part of the Mt. Vernon estate. It was given to his nephew. The Georgian/Federal mansion was built by the architect of the U.S. Capitol. It is the first historic site of the National Trust. Events and lectures are on the calendar. Open March- mid December.
Good for families with older children, friends or on your own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Lotta History and Connections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Note: I wrote a separate review of the Pope-Leighey House. This was my second or third visit to this lovely old home (visited it as a child with my parents). It seems to have gotten smaller but maybe I just grew up. The fascination with this home comes with the connection to George Washington and the turmoil that took place there during the Revolutionary War. The house is well maintained and the guides are very friendly. They have numerous piece of Washington's from the division of his estate, which just adds to the charm of this place. The grounds are lovely (though my most recent visit was in December thus not much to see) and you have the added bonus of the Pope-Leighey House being on the grounds. Go and see it and take a step back in time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cabin the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I lucked out by getting to this house right before it closed for the season, plus I had the house all to myself, which was extra nice. It is a quaint, closet size home, moved to its current location to save it from distraction. Built in the traditional Usonian style which FLW is known for. It is hard to imagine someone living in the small little space, but all the same I would have loved to have tried it out. They have some of the original furniture on display, but most of it is in storage to protect it from damage. Don't worry though they have replicas in place so you get the true experience. One of their guides is a woodworker that makes exact copies of Frank Lloyd Wright pieces. My guide was more than willing to answer all my questions even general FLW ones. It is on the grounds of Woodlawn Plantation and I recommend that you opted for the combo ticket to see both homes. It is nice to see the contrast between Colonial Manor and Innovative Modernism before it was modern..... Enjoy!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beatiful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Home of G. Washington's nephew and step-daughter. Well furnished and maintained, welcoming. Occasional afternoon teas. Springtime exhibit of handiwork is a real treat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House also viewed

 

Been to Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodlawn Plantation and Pope-Leighey House to your Saves list