We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a recent visit to Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Restaurant

Tempo Restaurant
4231 Duke St, Ste C, Alexandria, VA 22304-2485
703-370-7900
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 627 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $23 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Gordon
Transit: Nearest Metro Station: King Street Metro is 2.2 miles away within walking distance if you are in good shape otherwise take a cab.
Description: Nestled in the West End, Tempo Restaurant is one of Alexandria's best-kept secrets. This elegant, but unpretentious, neighborhood restaurant is where the locals dine. Tempo's menu displays a blend of northern Italian and French cuisine, featuring fresh seafood.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“On a recent visit to Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Springfield/Alexandria recently to celebrate my Mom's birthday. After a couple of days, she suggested that we take lunch at Tempo. We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon
and were nicely greeted by the Maitre De and seated right away into one of two rooms, at a sunny spot, with linens and fresh flowers. Our order was taken as soon as we were ready to order. We were all happy with our choices and everything was fresh and of good color. The
wait staff was never far from reach for a refill of iced tea or coffee. The only negative I could mention was that their fresh green salad only came with one dressing, none other was offered.

In closing, I would warn you not to judge this establishment by the cover, the building is old, while not particularly exceptional nor objectionable. Give them a try, it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    22
    17
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little neighborhood place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My Italian friend raved about Tempo for years before I finally got to try it. He's right of course as are all the good reviews here. Atmosphere is cozy, contemporary, comfortable, and elegant all at one time. Service is good to excellent. Food never disappoints. We've tried many things and not one has been less than very good. Most dishes hover around the $20 range and house wine was $8 a glass. Deserts, while on the expensive side, are indeed extensive and wonderful so save room! Try it and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been enjoying Tempo for a few years. Interesting preparation of seafood is their speciality but all their dishes are excellent. At dinnertime, you can enjoy a wonderful carpaccio, too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Love this restaurant. All the food is excellent and served in just the right portion size so there is room to enjoy the fantastic desserts. Have never had a bad meal here. The dining is casual, the staff is friendly, and price is right. Whenever my father-in-law visits from Germany, we always take him to his favorite restaurant, Tempo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N New England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My biweekly lunch bunch returned to Tempo yesterday after several months of sampling other Northern Virginia eateries inside the Beltway. It was almost better than going home; a fine selection of seafoods prepared in Tempo's traditional french style, a nice wine selection. quiet ambiance and easy parking. We will return again soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tempo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.