We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely colonial mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle House

Carlyle House
121 N. Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314
703/549-2997
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 37 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A Georgian Palladian manor house built in 1753 by merchant and city founder John Carlyle. Here, five royal governors and General Braddock met to discuss funding of the French and Indian War. Daily tours, youth programs, special events, exhibits and lectures offer visitors a chance to experience eighteenth century life through the eyes of one man and his family as he made the journey from English citizen to American patriot. The story of Carlyle House parallels the early history of Alexandria, colonial Virginia, and America and is brought to life through costumed interpreters, guides and fun family programs. Tues.-Sat. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun. noon-4 p.m. (tours on the hour and half hour, last tour at 4).
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely colonial mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great tour of one of the finest colonial homes in Alexandria. Knowledgeable tour guide. Lots of history of the Carlyles and the beginnings of American revolution.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

really enjoyed this tour. staff was kind n courteous. they were very knowledgable. parents with 3rd graders definatly give this a stop. my 9 yr old was engrossed for 2 hours. she had studied Carlyle in school ( MI) so it made her go hey i know what this is...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice manor home....but go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were on the last tour of the day and were made to feel quite rushed through the manor home. The woman that took us in seemed in a hurry to go home, even though the sign stated they had a 4pm tour. We arrived at 3:55pm and were not allowed to see the first history display. We were brought straight back to the video, which was interesting, and thankfully a different woman took us on the house tour. She was older and a very good tour guide, until the younger woman joined us half way through and rushed us through the house. We paid the same as everyone else and felt a bit "cheated" in the way we were rushed through. We were not even able to look at the gift shop as the younger woman had already shut everything down. That being said, the house is beautiful and worth a see. Just be sure you get there before the last tour or tell them you want to pay half as the tour won't be complete.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carlyle House from the inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This house has deep links to our American history and lots of personal insights into colonial life based on personal letters written by John Carlyle to his brother in England.

This house museum has so many personal touches you will enjoy your visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food - Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love the Carlyle House for special occasions. It is best to make a reservation as it is a well known gem. Great food, and great atmosphere. Higher priced, but the quality is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle House also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.