We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle House

Carlyle House
121 N. Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314
703/549-2997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A Georgian Palladian manor house built in 1753 by merchant and city founder John Carlyle. Here, five royal governors and General Braddock met to discuss funding of the French and Indian War. Daily tours, youth programs, special events, exhibits and lectures offer visitors a chance to experience eighteenth century life through the eyes of one man and his family as he made the journey from English citizen to American patriot. The story of Carlyle House parallels the early history of Alexandria, colonial Virginia, and America and is brought to life through costumed interpreters, guides and fun family programs. Tues.-Sat. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun. noon-4 p.m. (tours on the hour and half hour, last tour at 4).
New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“First rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Took the guided tour. We were pressed for time but they accommodated us with a shortened tour. Did not see the video but they gave us a potted version of the family history. Excellent historian guide who brought it all alive. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I visited The Carlyle House last week and it was so lovely! Our guide, Shelley was very kind and knowledgeable. She took us through the home and shared so many interesting facts. This was truly the highlight of my visit to Alexandria! I can't wait to come back again someday with my entire family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were lucky enough to go on Braddock Day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

All people there that fateful day were wonderfully represented by locals in period costume and stayed in character the whole time. They interacted with the visitors, answered questions and shared what they were doing and who they were. The Generals were eating period food and happy to explain the dishes.,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Town Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We enjoyed seeing the Carlyle House. The visit started with a decent movie introducing the house and the family. We had a guide who was well-informed and able to answer most of our questions. (I was a bit disturbed about his calling the house slaves 'servants.' If you aren't free, and you aren't being paid, you're a slave, not a servant.) The restoration does not all look completely accurate and they could stand to update some aspects of their presentation. But, on the whole, it is an interesting site and well worth visiting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“tour was dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I took my 5 year-old who has been to many historic sites and loves them. He can sit through a PBS documentary with no complaints but the tour guide here was dry and spoke in a low, soft voice. The house has interesting history but the guide didnt focus so much on that but rather on the period-when the house was built. The rooms are well done and you can walk right into them. This was really neat but also a terrible enticement for young kids. I absolutely would not recommend it for families of young children, definitely not stroller friendly or for anyone with mobility issues. Small, narrow staircases and spaces. Very pretty gardens and grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle House also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.