We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, average museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lyceum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Lyceum
201 S. Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703/838-4994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The building itself is so impressive, and I was eager to visit it, but have to say the museum itself isn't so very impressive. Parts of it were closed when we were there, and I really wouldn't consider returning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been to Alexandria many times but had never been into the Lyceum until this visit and it is a small gem. It has some very intersting history to share.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Poe in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ten years ago I went to see David Keltz in the Hershey Hotel. It was a haunting and spectacular day as we snacked on finger foods and Hershey's gourmet versions of their wonderful treats. Every table was set up with a raven on a branch and the dim lighting and ambiance played it's own part in his stunning rendition of the Raven!! When I saw that Poe would be portrayed in the Lyceum in Alexandria for only $15.00 I just had to attend. The town of Alexandria alone captivated me, and the Lyceum was filled with war memorabilia eye candy that made this visit worth the commute. I will be back to Alexandria without a doubt, "old town" fascinated me, the shops, the art ,decor was intoxicating!!! I had an amazing night, I would highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,455 reviews 1,455 reviews
736 attraction reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
767 helpful votes 767 helpful votes
“Slavery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We wanted to visit this museum to learn more about Alexandria.
It's located in a nice area with some beautiful buildings as the court house.
It has interestings stories about the brutality of slavery and segregation. One of those stories is about Fanny Jackson jailed in washington because she was claimed by one Asa Buckner of Loudon, VA. She was sold for "her jail fees as a slave for life".
I also learned that the largest slave - trading company in the US was the Franklin & Armfield based in Virginia.
You can find some information about the beginning of the city and it shows the most relevant facts occurred in Alexandria.
The museum is very simple. It deserves a short visit specially during the summer to avoid the highs temperatures for a while.
The suggested donation is $2 per person.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A total overlooked gem in historic Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had the occasion to visit the Lyceum this week and was reminded that it has a lot to offer in the way of local history. Alexandria was at one time, included in the District of Columbia. We shared our early history and had some pivotal roles at various times since the colonial days.

Lots of interesting artifacts are displayed in a lovely building that has been preserved over time. Their is a nice gift store for unusually interesting and relevant offerings. The Lyceum is off the beaten (King Street) path by two blocks on South Washington Street.

Civl War and War of 1812 are prominent exhibits in the coming year. There is a small fee for access $2.00.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyceum also viewed

 

Been to The Lyceum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lyceum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.