We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Street Baptist Church

Alfred Street Baptist Church
301 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-683-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alfred Street is among the oldest African American Baptist Churches in America, celebrating its bicentennial in 2003.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Historic Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

The pastor is excellent. They offer a Saturday service at 6pm which i love because as a flight attendant i work alot of sundays. Nice big church and everyone is friendly. Im not from this area so this is my go to church away from home.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historical African-American Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This was my second visit to Alfred Street Baptist Church. It is a spiritual, dynamic, proud, progressive, historical, impressive, warm and beautiful church. Alfred Street has a proud history in Alexandria. The congregation has been really warm and welcoming each time I have visited. I could tell the congregation cares for each other and work together to make their church successful in all its ministries/missions. It would be my choice to attend if/when I am in DC/Northern VA for a visit and looking for a church.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dynamic Pastor, excellent choir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I used to attend this church years ago until they had several interim pastors. In the past year I have gone back to visit several times. The pastor has always had a great sermon. All the choirs are fantastic. Your soul will certainly be fed here and this is a teaching church with something for everyone.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,265 reviews 1,265 reviews
315 attraction reviews
Reviews in 268 cities Reviews in 268 cities
672 helpful votes 672 helpful votes
“Alfred Street Baptist Church traces its origins to 1803”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I visited Alfred Street Baptist Church while taking a guided tour of Old Town Alexandria. This historic church itself is beautiful and located in a nice area. Alfred Street Baptist Church traces its origins to 1803, during the period when Thomas Jefferson served as the third president of the United States.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Gospel like you've never heard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Warm, open, welcoming largely African American congregration.

Visiting one weekend, we chose this church because frankly it was the only Baptist Church nearby. Once inside we realized we were quite the minority and gave mental note to the remnants of segregration in faith communities in most denominations.

And the note was all there was. We were welcomed with open arms, embraced, hands shaken and moved deeply by the fabulous choir and congregation as we all lifted our voices in praise and song. The sermon was dynamic, thought-provoking and quickened our souls. The invitational profoundly moving.

It was a fabulous experience for us, as well as our grandchildren. The Spirit lives in this church . There is joy, praise, love of God and true worship.

We give thanks to the people of the Alfred Street Baptist Church for opening their doors, and for the wonderful lights that burn there for both resident and visiting community.

We will worship here with these great people again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred Street Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to Alfred Street Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Street Baptist Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.