We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Church in South Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Street Baptist Church

Alfred Street Baptist Church
301 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-683-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Alfred Street is among the oldest African American Baptist Churches in America, celebrating its bicentennial in 2003.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Church in South Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Set on the corners of Alfred and Duke Streets (about 4 blocks south of King Street), this beautiful church stands as a tribute to the faith of 19th century denizens of Alexandria. This is an expanding congregation within a large building that has grown over the years to accommodate its membership. Explore the sanctuary and classroom building to appreciate this architectural gem. Participation in worship is the best way to realize that Alfred Street has not been content to be a historical symbol but sees itself a vital, living church with an exciting faith.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenominal Branch of Zion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

At ASBC, you will experience the joy of Christian love and fellowship; the rich beauty of song, worship and praises to the Lord; a spiritual feeding from an educated, annointed yet humble pastor; a nurturing village for your children; a place to grow in your Christian walk; a warm and friendly congregation; a host of relevant minitries and programs; and the Spirit of the Lord every day of the week. I thank God for leading me and my family to this church family 5 years ago. Just wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An Old Town Alexandria institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderful religious institution in the Washington, DC area. Led by Rev. Dr. Howard-John Wesley, it has ministries for people of all ages and interests. Parking can be a little tough because the church is in the heart of busy Old Town (corner of Duke and Alfred Streets), but it is definitely worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful church with a great history. People of all races and creeds worshiping together. Great piece of Alexandria.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“So Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Alexandria, VA from Ohio. We had been headed for a different church we had seen on the Internet for their Easter Sunday Sunrise Service. We were running a little late, and saw a lot of people going into this church. We thought let's just go here. Oh wow, we had no idea what a blessing we would receive. The pastor was truly inspirational. The church had a full choir and orchestra with violins, bass, brass, grand piano. The soloists were fantastic. The church had an Easter service the night before and 5 services that day...and it was packed. Everybody was very friendly, and it made me feel good about our future. We were not dressed as well as most, but that didn't matter. The women around us wore hats and gloves, and the men were in suits. We felt like we had been to church!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred Street Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to Alfred Street Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Street Baptist Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alfred Street Baptist Church to your Saves list