We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Town Alexandria institution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Street Baptist Church

Alfred Street Baptist Church
301 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-683-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alfred Street is among the oldest African American Baptist Churches in America, celebrating its bicentennial in 2003.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An Old Town Alexandria institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderful religious institution in the Washington, DC area. Led by Rev. Dr. Howard-John Wesley, it has ministries for people of all ages and interests. Parking can be a little tough because the church is in the heart of busy Old Town (corner of Duke and Alfred Streets), but it is definitely worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful church with a great history. People of all races and creeds worshiping together. Great piece of Alexandria.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“So Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Alexandria, VA from Ohio. We had been headed for a different church we had seen on the Internet for their Easter Sunday Sunrise Service. We were running a little late, and saw a lot of people going into this church. We thought let's just go here. Oh wow, we had no idea what a blessing we would receive. The pastor was truly inspirational. The church had a full choir and orchestra with violins, bass, brass, grand piano. The soloists were fantastic. The church had an Easter service the night before and 5 services that day...and it was packed. Everybody was very friendly, and it made me feel good about our future. We were not dressed as well as most, but that didn't matter. The women around us wore hats and gloves, and the men were in suits. We felt like we had been to church!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great church, amazing congregation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in here on Good Friday. We didn't stay for the whole service, but the members of the congregation were so welcoming and friendly. They really made a difference in our vacation. Before the service several members of the church were playing the hand bells, Wow! Just wow! They were wonderful! My kids were mesmerized and wanted to stay and listen for hours. This was an unexpected highlight of our vacation to Washington DC.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming Spirit and Excellent Biblical Teaching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pastor Howard John Wesley is a phenomenal pastor and preacher. He's charismatic, very intelligent, and spot on with his theological knowledge. The environment is warm and inviting. The choirs are excellent. There are ministries offered to serve almost anyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred Street Baptist Church also viewed

 

Been to Alfred Street Baptist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Street Baptist Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.