We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unusual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
105-107 S. Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Apothecary served local customers, including the Washingtons and Robert E. Lee, between 1792 and 1933. The shop was transformed into a museum shortly after its closing and visitors can still view the original ingredients, products, and documents left behind by this 141-year-old family business.
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very Unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We thought this place was very cool. It's an 18th Century apothecary that barely changed from the time it opened until it closed its doors in the 1930s. The retail section downstairs is all as it was, including a handwritten order from Martha Washington. Upstairs, the company ran a large mail order business for their own products. The medicinal ingredients are still in their storage containers, along with pill rollers, etc. Very interesting. We had an engaging woman guide us around. She knew her stuff. The young director is doing a good job, too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stumbled onto this place as we were paying for parking. My partner thought we should go inside, and I am quite glad we did. This old pharmacy is the same as it was 100 years ago. As a matter of fact, it was sealed up and kept exactly the same as it was left in 1933 (I believe). The guide was so knowledgeable and answered all the questions we had. I won't spoil it for you, but the second floor is amazing! There's even a registry that lists Robert E Lee and Martha Washington as clients! Definitely make a stop here for a different kind of experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

everything was left in its state from the 1800's. Very cool to see the place almost just as it was from the period. Make sure to get a key to the city book at the visitors center if you are going to other museums. cost was $9 and worth if you so 2 or more tours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

this was an interesting tour and guide was very knowledgeable, and answered all the kids questions happily!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Being a pharmacist, I may be a bit biased but I thought this was a really cool museum. It looks like they locked the door in 1880 and never returned. It was cool to see all the different things they used back in early days of pharmacy; old bottles, pill makers, etc. There's even a bin that once held cannabis. Who knew?! If you think meds today have safety concerns, there were some pretty hairy things concocted back in those days!
Of note, there's a letter from Mrs. George Washington (I believe) asking for a bottle of their best castor oil and the bill. I think it was ten or twenty bucks for two of us but worth the historical trip and to contribute to the cause.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum to your Saves list