We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
105-107 S. Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Apothecary served local customers, including the Washingtons and Robert E. Lee, between 1792 and 1933. The shop was transformed into a museum shortly after its closing and visitors can still view the original ingredients, products, and documents left behind by this 141-year-old family business.
United States
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

really in original condition, a real gem to view amd see how it used to be

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long lasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This museum is very well preserved and so very interesting. You can see in the front window, but there is so much more so worth the visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,154 reviews 1,154 reviews
544 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“Favorite Alexandria Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I love this place because it is so unique. This is the same pharmacy where people in Alexandria (including George and Martha Washington) had their prescriptions filled for over 130 years. I always recommend this place to friends because I just find it so interesting. I've never met anyone who was disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Must visit if you're interested in traditional remedies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've wanted to visit this museum for several years and it was always closed when I managed to make it to Alexandria. Finally had the chance to go. It consists of two rooms full of original shelves and counters containing items from the Apothecary. The tour guide was formally a pharmacist and provided a lot of insight. My friend and I both had a scientific background along with a life long interest in herbal remedies, for this reason we had very interesting conversations with the guide. I would have loved to have spent more time in here and hope to return again. If you have any interest in herbal remedies/chemistry/history I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If visiting Old Town take the tme to visit this small museum to learn about the early days of the pharmacy business. The tour guide was great and willing to take the time with your group ans answer all quatons. Many great stories about the family business and its customers. Much better than I was expecting!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.