We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long lasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
105-107 S. Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 67 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Apothecary served local customers, including the Washingtons and Robert E. Lee, between 1792 and 1933. The shop was transformed into a museum shortly after its closing and visitors can still view the original ingredients, products, and documents left behind by this 141-year-old family business.
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long lasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This museum is very well preserved and so very interesting. You can see in the front window, but there is so much more so worth the visit.

Visited June 2012
Thank NVTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,943 reviews
1,045 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,395 helpful votes
“Favorite Alexandria Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I love this place because it is so unique. This is the same pharmacy where people in Alexandria (including George and Martha Washington) had their prescriptions filled for over 130 years. I always recommend this place to friends because I just find it so interesting. I've never met anyone who was disappointed.

Visited June 2012
1 Thank WhitO5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Must visit if you're interested in traditional remedies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've wanted to visit this museum for several years and it was always closed when I managed to make it to Alexandria. Finally had the chance to go. It consists of two rooms full of original shelves and counters containing items from the Apothecary. The tour guide was formally a pharmacist and provided a lot of insight. My friend and I both had a scientific background along with a life long interest in herbal remedies, for this reason we had very interesting conversations with the guide. I would have loved to have spent more time in here and hope to return again. If you have any interest in herbal remedies/chemistry/history I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
1 Thank freqworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If visiting Old Town take the tme to visit this small museum to learn about the early days of the pharmacy business. The tour guide was great and willing to take the time with your group ans answer all quatons. Many great stories about the family business and its customers. Much better than I was expecting!

Visited April 2012
Thank Wes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fun find in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is a gem. Although small very much worth the visit. On Washington's Birthday Parade Day and St. Patrick's Parade Day it's free and very worth the take

Visited March 2012
Thank fitzstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum also viewed


Been to Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing