We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality of Food. Friendly Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nickell's & Scheffler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nickell's & Scheffler
1028 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2923 (Old Town)
703-549-5545
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 647 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Delicatessen
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality of Food. Friendly Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Susan and Louie, the owners, prepare excellent, fresh food. They take great pride in their preparation and freshness and the prepare specials each day. You can stop by and get take out for prepared dinners for one or two, which are excellent. The sandwiches are fresh, the meat is fresh, and they are made to order. Her soups are very good as are her salads. I've never had a bad meal there and there's always a smile for you when you go through the front door. It's a small place, so get there early for lunch, or get take out. Or stop by on the way home and grab your dinner.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    6
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had only an hour in Alexandria between a conference and my shuttle to the airport so I didn't even have time to sit down at a restaurant and I can't stand fast food. I went into Nickell's & Scheffler, a little home cooked food shop, and bought up a rather wide selection of their treats to take with me on my long trip home. I lunched on their chipotle hummus - perfectly spicy and hummus-y! Then waiting for my place, I dined on their crab cakes: perfect! with a slightly spicy sauce, yum. Dessert was a gluten-free brownie, the richest morsel I've even had - got to get that recipe. So rich it took me several hours to eat just one. Then my flight got diverted and voila, I had a slice of Nickell's & Scheffler's artichoke quiche to snack on since I wasn't going to be getting home anytime soon. Fantastic. Finally got home, and had a piece of their apple pie. The best next to Mom's! Thick with apples, great crust, perfectly spicy with just the right amount of cinnamon. For breakfast back at home, I had the crustless quiche, also delicious. So Nickell's & Scheffler saw me happily through several meals on a 12-hour trip (some of those treats were supposed to make it home but didn't).
If you are going on a picnic or a bike ride to Mt Vernon, or if you want a deliciuos eat in meal, or just want to stay away from fast food, be sure to stop here and pick up your lunch or dinner. There are so many delicious treats to choose from. If you want, take a break from shopping on King Street and sit and have a bowl of soup; they have a couple of little tables to esat about six or eight people. It isn't a sit-down place for a large group but you could take out food to serve a large group. I would have liked to try the soup but I think I did pretty well in my first quick visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good food, odd vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My take-out meal from N&S was very good, reminding me of food at the table of a relative who was a great cook -- it felt family-like rather than upscale. The owners seemed a little tired and down, but it might have been a long day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
600 reviews 600 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Awesome Deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The people in here are very kind and helpful, and the food is fabulous! They have lots of options, both hot and cold, and LOTS more room to sit inside than you might think!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best salad for lunch takeout in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Chef is truly committed to cooking with the best ingredients, perusing the local farmer's markets, creating seasonal dishes with the utmost care. The spinach salad with fruit and nuts is the best I've had in the area for lunchtime takeout. Dressings are fresh, meats are lovingly cooked, and daily specials abound. Eat in or take out. Friendly local gourmet takeout!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickell's & Scheffler also viewed

 

Been to Nickell's & Scheffler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickell's & Scheffler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.