We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good beer selection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilbo Baggins

Bilbo Baggins
208 Queen St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2613 (Old Town)
703-683-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bilbo Baggins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #148 of 648 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Fairfax & Lee Streets
Transit: The Dash bus has 2 stops on Fairfax Street near the intersection of Queen St. The restaurant is located on Queen St. between Fairfax and Lee Streets. There are 2 metro stops in Alexandria that will get you within 15-17 blocks of the restaurant. The metro stops are King St. or Braddock Road. From there its just a quick cab ride or nice walk.
Temperance, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good beer selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped in for happy hour and really enjoyed the beer selection and the pizza. The shire and the green dragon were our favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    67
    46
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The name is misleading!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a young girl visiting us for a couple weeks this summer and she is a huge Hobbit fan. We thought this might be a neat place to take her and she was excited to go. We got there early - around 4 PM or so. We were seated upstairs and we were the only folks up there which seemed kind of strange. Maybe they didn't want to seat dinner guests with kids downstairs - our guest is 12. There was hardly any Lord of the Rings or Hobbit stuff upstairs save a mural on the wall.
There was some memorabilia downstairs but nothing really odd or unusual.

The food - it was average. I think the chef is trying for gourmet but just didn't make it. There was nothing that she was really interested so she got a gnocchi with alfredo sauce dish - it was pretty bland and she didn't really like it - the sauce was very mild yet buttery and creamy - I liked it. I had a salmon dish - I don't really remember what was in it - it wasn't memorable. I do remember that the salmon was a bit overcooked because it was dry. I don't know what my hubby had but it, too was not great. Just so-so.

If you are going here because of the name or because you are a hobbit fan, you can skip this.
The prices were a bit high for what you got. If you ordered a soft drink they handed you a glass of ice and a can! How strange is that with a bar right downstairs? I was afraid to ask for a refill because I think they would have charged for it. Not the norm in this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nothing but good things to say about this little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the fun atmosphere, to the great service, to the excellent happy hour deals on food and drinks, we had a great experience at this little pub. I can say that the place was busy and the very attentive bartender was right on top of it. Great service, great deals and fun atmosphere really made for a great time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really excellent food, good service and fun! Very well worth a visit.
A little overpriced (but so is everywhere else in Alexandia / DC)
As for the LOTR theme .... well apart from the names of the pricey cocktails (prices not on the board so ASK!!!), nothing much.
Still, a really nice little place with great atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Old Town Bar with Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Bilbo Baggins is triple-blessed with amazing food (and beer selection), a great back-story (ask how it was named long before the movies came out), and awesome servers (especially Teddy). I had the cedar plank salmon which comes on a rice cake plus with a special sauce. Fantastic combination! There's a huge beer selection, but I recommend letting the servers guide you through a selection from one of the specialty beers on the first page.

The restaurant is a couple of blocks from King Street, but definitely worth the extra steps to have an enjoyable meal and drinks with friends. It has both downstairs and upstairs seating, and we actually enjoyed the 'more open' feel of upstairs. Our server Teddy was outstanding - great service, great attitude, and a musician to boot. Be sure and ask for him if you get the chance to visit Bilbo Baggins.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilbo Baggins also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Bilbo Baggins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilbo Baggins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.