We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great food friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

was in old town dc area for a long weekend, went to southside because of the reviews on trip advisor, had planned on just eating Friday dinner there but end up eating both nights there and went back for desert and drinks after some sightseeing and shopping on king street. my only suggestion is they switch from the old tired frozen fries the establishment and food they are served with is far to good please please please switch or at least offer a fresh cut fry!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

While visiting Washington DC we wanted to eat somewhere off the beaten path and decided to try Southside 815. We were staying in Arlington and found Alexandria to be fairly easily accessible. (driving during rush hour was a bit congested, but that is to be expected) The restaurant was quaint and charming and situated on the main drag....exactly what we'd hoped for. We were greeted by wooden floors, bar tops and tables accented with wrought iron railings and a mural-painted ceiling in the dining room. We very much enjoyed the high-backed booths, which cannot be found all that often. The menu was extensive and covered everything from salads and sandwiches to steaks and seacood entrees. Being from the midwest, we really enjoyed the selection of southern comfort foods such as greens, cornbread, redskin mashed potatoes, sweet potato biscuits and fried green tomatoes. Needless to say the sweet tea was exceptional. We were seated quickly and our server had the perfect level of attentiveness. We had the strip steak which was wonderful and we were pleased the kitchen split it for us.
We observed large portions of food being served around us, so it seems this place is the perfect balance of value, portion size and service. Parking is available behind the building or on the street during certain times of the day. The restaurant is obviously a favorite for many, as we saw business professionals, families and couples while we were there. They also offer a pleasant outdoor seating area. Would definately recommend trying to fit this place into your travels if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or inexpensive dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dropped into this longtime favorite restaurant on our way to Reagan National airport. How great to see it hasn't changed since I moved from Alexandria 6 years ago! I used to eat dinner here regularly, but this time we had lunch. On Mondays the po' boys are on 1/2-price special. What a deal! I had the catfish po' boy and loved it. Boyfriend had the crawfish po' boy, which didn't taste as good. They serve these overflowing sandwiches on hoagie rolls (lots of bread!) with a selection of special sauces. My boyfriend enjoyed the craft beer selection, too. Great alternative to airport food! Will definitely make it a point to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were served some great southern food here! The sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes were spot on! The turnip greens were alittle undercooked in my opinion, but we southerns tend to over cook all vegetables! The pecan chicken was delicious!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Tobacco, Maryland
1 review
“An Understated Gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've had a business in Alexandria for decades and don't know how I missed this fine establishment. Good food & service at a reasonable price. Kudos...!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside 815, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.