We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch or inexpensive dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 610 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or inexpensive dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dropped into this longtime favorite restaurant on our way to Reagan National airport. How great to see it hasn't changed since I moved from Alexandria 6 years ago! I used to eat dinner here regularly, but this time we had lunch. On Mondays the po' boys are on 1/2-price special. What a deal! I had the catfish po' boy and loved it. Boyfriend had the crawfish po' boy, which didn't taste as good. They serve these overflowing sandwiches on hoagie rolls (lots of bread!) with a selection of special sauces. My boyfriend enjoyed the craft beer selection, too. Great alternative to airport food! Will definitely make it a point to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    67
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were served some great southern food here! The sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes were spot on! The turnip greens were alittle undercooked in my opinion, but we southerns tend to over cook all vegetables! The pecan chicken was delicious!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Tobacco, Maryland
1 review
“An Understated Gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've had a business in Alexandria for decades and don't know how I missed this fine establishment. Good food & service at a reasonable price. Kudos...!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Hunt, VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is THE place to go to feel right at home - friendly service and nice crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We live in Alexandria, and frequently go here for Happy Hour. The bar staff are very friendly, remember your name, and are always prompt. Go early as after 5:30 p.m. it's standing room only. They have great appetizers. On Wednesdays they have seafood on the appetizer list for Happy Hour. Our out of town guests love this place. It's quaint, friendly, good food, and not expensive. Plenty of street parking. Give it a try - it's a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice local spot for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been going to Southside for years. Love the Southside 815 biscuit appetizer and also the cobb salad. These are my favorites! Service is good here, too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside 815, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.