We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Hangout with Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Local Hangout with Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is my favorite local hangout spot. There is a dining area and a huge bar area - each offers a different experience. The food is southern/Cajun, and I haven't had anything I didn't like. Big portions.

The happy hour is the best I've found in the DC area - very discounted drinks and even food, plus it goes until 7:30. I've gone for happy hour and gotten enough bar food and drinks to send me home full and happy at 7:30 and spent less than $20 (with tips).

The crowd can be hit or miss - it tends toward 30-something locals. I've met some cool people, and also been annoyed by older latchers-on who didn't get the hint. Overall though, it's got the feel of a local dive - except with very high-quality food and a cleaner floor!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    61
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

a little noisy but the food was good. Service was polite and efficient. it was difficult to carry on a conversation. Looked as though it were a hangout for the thirtyish crowd.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This restaurant is a staple in our collection of "Places to take your friends/relatives to eat." We were introduced to it by my mother-in-law, who is an Oldtown Alexandria dweller. We have gone countless times, and tonight when we took our best friends, the restaurant did NOT disappoint. Two favorites are the Drunken Pot Roast and the Meatloaf. Make sure you get the greens, they know how to cook 'em. Overall, a terrific place to meet and eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Southside 815 is a nice spot to meet with friends for lunch or dinner, but my favorite is their weekend brunch. They have a great special bloody marys on weekends and its a good place to watch games.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good bet in Alexandria; consistent 'heavy' southern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a good bet, a go-to standby in the outskirts of Alexandria's Old Town vicinity. The menu is a bit heavy on the 'southern' side, which should be expected, meaning there are a lot of fried foods and southern style dishes. That being said, the menu has enough variety that you can avoid fried if you want and both landlubbers and seafood aficionados can both find many good choices. The oysters are delectable and tantalizing. The fries are done perfectly and the portions a nice size. It has a tavern look and feel, reminiscent of the colonial south. Wait staff is pleasant and although it is too far to Old Town to walk, the bonus of a parking garage hidden behind the restaurant off an alley is a great asset in this city

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside 815, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.