We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: Fun Mix. Price ranges from 10 dollar sandwich to 22 dollar entree. Food has a nice specialty to it. Fun options. Normal service.

Cons: Food is very bland. The options sound much better in the menu than they taste. The food isn't bad but it is just average. Location is near the outskirts of Alexandria and it isn't as pleasant as center city downtown to walk around.

Summary: Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is one of our favorite local sit down restaurants. The menu features many great southern and Cajun styled foods and the service is always good. I highly recommend the fried chicken pasta and the pecan chicken. Both will have you licking your plate! A great place for couples and families alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

They had some of the best ribs I have ever eaten. The food was superb and the service friendly and very helpful. If you are ever in Alexandria you must eat here. Not pretentious wi a great selection of beer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Notch Southern Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food at Southside 815 is absolutely fabulous. Every appetizer, every entree was so fantastic that you will want to order a bunch of dishes and try everything. The gumbo was exactly what I would expect to get in New Orleans. The sweet potato biscuits were amazing. I would never visit Alexandria again without stopping here for a meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, PA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“plenty of southern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful jambalaya pasta with great cajan cream sauce on pasta (not sure about pasta instead of rice, but it was wonderful!) Tuna with remoulade, collard greens (even had the bottle of vinegar over hot peppers to sprinkle over it), mashed regular and sweet potatoes with cheese sauce was overwhelming--a large portion which could have fed 2-3 with my appetite. We shared a bread basket: wonderful corn bread, sweet potato biscuit, but regular biscuit surprisingly tough. Redeeming feature was excellent peace hot pepper jelly--available for purchase, which we did. Nice staff. Street parking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside 815, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.