We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat the value on 1/2 price Po Boy night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hard to beat the value on 1/2 price Po Boy night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We took our son, daughter-in-law and two grand kids to eat on Monday March 18. We learned it was 1/2 price for Po Boys so three of us had them. I had the beef and it was generous as we're the oyster versions. The fries are very good, just crispy enough and very tasty. Our waitress was very attentive especially relative to our grand children who are 5 weeks and 20 months. I'm sure that being there on a Monday early evening had a lot to do with the level of service, but we could have been ignored just as easily.
The bar area was much busier (Happy Hour), and has a sports bar atmosphere with multiple large screen TVs. Very inviting for the next time when my son and I are without kids!
We'll be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get ready for outdoor eating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love this restaurant - the location is perfect, the food is terrific, they have a great brunch and yummy bloody marys... and I even like the decor and buzz of the restaurant itself. Can't wait til the weather improves a bit, because they have a nice sidewalk seating area. Great place to meet up with friends!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Southern Food and Great Biscuits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ate at Southside 815 for dinner with a group of friends. We didn't have to wait for seating on a Sunday night as the restaurant wasn't too busy. The menu was diverse and we had a hard time deciding what to get. However, we started with the bread basket which had awesome biscuits and excellent cornbread.

The two vegetarians in our group had a huge salad and mac and cheese. They said the mac and cheese was good but a bit greasy. Two had a trout special and they both devoured it. I had a steak which was pretty good. The mashed potatoes were creamy but the green beans weren't anything special. The portions were very hearty and we had leftovers.

Service was good but parking was tough (not as bad as Old Town). I'd definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“comfort food and vegetarian selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The menu offers a wide selection of meats, seafoods, salads and a few vegetarian selections as well- a portabella sandwich and a vegetable platter consisting of many different sides, Watch out for the greens on the vegetable platter if you're vegetarian because they are cooked with ham and instead, opt for the vegetable medley or another vegetable dish from the selection of sides.
We dined here on a Friday evening at about 7:00 pm. We were told there was a 20 minute wait but we were seated a little faster. The waitress was attentive, checking back a few times during the course of our meal. Everything was great and we had no complaints.
My dining companion ordered a steak topped with a blue cheese and bacon mixture, garlic green beans and mashed redskin potatoes has he said his meal was delicious. I noticed there was very little fat on the steak and it was cooked exactly as he had ordered it.
I had the vegetable platter and was very happy with the selection- cornbread and butter, vegetable medley (a substitute from the greens), spiced mashed sweet potatoes, cheddar grits, mashed redskin potatoes, and succotash stew in a tomato base.
We live in Alexandria but this was our first time dining here. There is such a wide selection of choices on the menu that we will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
“Best "real American" restaurant in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are a visitor to the Washington area, and you are put off by the lack of warmth, friendliness and down home feeling you get in the real America
"outside the Beltway," bring your partner or your whole family here. On Washington street in Old Town Alexandria, there is plenty of parking in the area, and when you walk in, you will feel like you have left Washington behind. The restaurant is not cozy and romantic; it is noisy, but laid back and relaxed; everyone is smiling and the staff are friendly, attentive always on hand when you need them.

The food is the best comfort food you can find unless you go all the way to Richmond. It's delicious southern fare, and the menu has something for virtually every taste. The plates are brimming, so be prepared to take food home. Start with the bread basket and the shrimp appetizers. Sooooo good. Will make you feel happy all over. Then...well, there are at least two dozen items on the menu that are mouth-watering. The pot roast is simply ta die for, but so is the jumbalaya pasta and many others.

The bar is crowded and full of locals...mainly twenty somethings. The main dining room is packed with people of all ages, from babes in arms to 80 somethings. The beer selction is excellent, with some excellent local and international lagers, ales, stouts and light beers on tap. And the prices are right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southside 815, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.