We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food....horrible service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
815 King St, Ste A, Alexandria, VA 22314-3031 (Old Town)
703-600-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flying Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 648 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
EVERYWHERE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food....horrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great sushi, I go here every time that I am in the DC area. Unfortunately, this last visit, the food was again top notch, but we had maybe the worst service ever.
This was all one waiter:
A. Didn't think that everyone needed a menu or a sushi order paper. We had to share. There were seven in our party, but he only gave us four menus and 5 of the sushi cards.
B. Didn't think that everyone needed a bread plate. Five of us had bread plates.
C. Obviously felt that 10 minutes between ordering a drink and getting the drink was a proper amount of time.
D. And there was much...much more.
But the bottom line is the sushi is great. Except for this last trip, we have always had very good service here. All seven of us were very happy with the food. We will all go back every time we are in town, and I bet that the incompetent waiter will be long gone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Karaoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We here last night for some karaoke fun. Got there at 12:30 and the sheet was already complete until 2am :/. So go early if you want to drunk sing. The bar was decent slow because of crowd but good. I would go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fairly priced for the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Highly recommended by the Marriott people, so we tried it. The variety of seafood dishes and sushi was extraordinary. We had the seafood combo and seafood shepard's pie. Both were outstanding in taste and quantity, although the Italian stuffed clams in the combo were too chewy . The price was reasonable for the quality, selection and location (around $20 per entre). Especially good was the happy hour special 5-7, bottle of wine for half price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'm sorry but my office shares an alley with this restaurant and I see their fish dropped off in the morning and it sits a long time before anyone arrives to being it inside. Yuck. Beware

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good fish & sushi place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I ate here with a colleague, and we both enjoyed our dishes very much. I tried the small plate with the spicy tuna and avocado, and the grilled salmon, both were excellent I ended up licking my fingers and cleaning the plate.
They also have a nice variety of beers. The waiters were kind and food came quickly enough.

Overall a good experience that I would recommend. Be warned however, the price is a bit on the high side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.