We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Karaoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
815 King St, Ste A, Alexandria, VA 22314-3031 (Old Town)
703-600-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flying Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #118 of 665 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Karaoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We here last night for some karaoke fun. Got there at 12:30 and the sheet was already complete until 2am :/. So go early if you want to drunk sing. The bar was decent slow because of crowd but good. I would go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fairly priced for the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Highly recommended by the Marriott people, so we tried it. The variety of seafood dishes and sushi was extraordinary. We had the seafood combo and seafood shepard's pie. Both were outstanding in taste and quantity, although the Italian stuffed clams in the combo were too chewy . The price was reasonable for the quality, selection and location (around $20 per entre). Especially good was the happy hour special 5-7, bottle of wine for half price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'm sorry but my office shares an alley with this restaurant and I see their fish dropped off in the morning and it sits a long time before anyone arrives to being it inside. Yuck. Beware

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good fish & sushi place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I ate here with a colleague, and we both enjoyed our dishes very much. I tried the small plate with the spicy tuna and avocado, and the grilled salmon, both were excellent I ended up licking my fingers and cleaning the plate.
They also have a nice variety of beers. The waiters were kind and food came quickly enough.

Overall a good experience that I would recommend. Be warned however, the price is a bit on the high side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still Won't Go back again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've tried this place numerous times since it opened hoping that it will be different or get better. It hasn't. The service is terrible. It's super noisey. The sushi is marginal at best. The bar tender is unfriendly and rude. The service is bad/slow. The manager was rude (again). The food is just not that special and you can get better food for similar prices in the places closer to the water. Over the years we have tried several dishes all somewhat disappointing. There is better seafood else where. Try it for yourself as everyone should form their own opinion. But mine is that you should try something else.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.