We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient default” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria da Franco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trattoria da Franco
305 S. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703 548 9338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria da Franco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #443 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Duke street
Transit: In the same block. Both directions. Washington st. and Duke st.
Ivins, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A convenient default”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We go here because it's close to the little theater of alexandria. When we first visited I thought it quaint with some much stuff on the walls.That feeling had worn off. I had the veal, my wife the salmon. The food is by no means bad but it's far from exceptional and by no means inexpensive. Next time we'll walk the extra two blocks to King street which opens up a lot more interesting possibilities.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    9
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite experience - unique, inviting, old world warmth and care.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Over the last 20 years, I have never been the least bit disappointed by the dining experiences I have had at Trattoria da Franco. The food is fresh - made daily in the kitchen. It is authentic, delicious, and prepared with care. The staff is attentive. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The house wines are remarkably smooth - no vinegary aftertaste. The deserts are fabulous. This restaurant is ALL about the CUSTOMER. If you expect to see McDonald's prices for all of this, well then, you are a person who needs to go back to Bristow, VA for a double cheeseburger. I've been to most of the small so called authentic restaurants in the DC metropolitan area and this one is the best value for the price, and without the snobbery. How often does one get to spend a glorious evening in Italy for less than $100?

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This charming restaurant provides a special place to relax and savor Italian specialities, served by helpful staff. It is an equally comfortable setting for solo diners, romantic couples and groups of friends. It is also a friendly hangout for neighborhood regulars. Ten years of visits and always wonderful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Check out Opera Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have tried many of the local Italian restaurants and find that Trattoria da Franco is one of the more authentic ones. It is by no means fancy, but it is very homey and has the atmosphere of a real Italian trattoria. I went to Opera Night last night. Although the music strayed from Opera into oldies and Italian songs, the atmosphere was festive and the night was a lot of fun.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sing a Song w Franco himself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you are in the mood for authentic italian food and lots of song and good cheer - Franco's is the place for you!

Monthly host of Opera Night - Sundays - a nice way to put a Wrap on your weekend! If you are a singer - even better - they'll hand you a mic in between bites of Lasagna!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Franco also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria da Franco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria da Franco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.