We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tourist Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warehouse Bar & Grill

Warehouse Bar & Grill
214 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703 683 6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Warehouse Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 612 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: So. Fairfax
Transit: Free Old Town Trolley - From King St Metro to Lee Street. Metro bus and Dash Bus stops along King Street
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tourist Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The area itself is pretty neat. A nice surprise for not having a parking lot in a tourist area. Kinda skeptical at first but once we found it, we were in for a good surprise!

We were looking for a quite restaurant unlike the ones around the area. Although old, it's built pretty well. Small and old, but the service and food makes up for it.

Had the oysters for apps, cajun veal and a salad dish. The bread was good too. Pretty tasty for what it was. Fair prices for what it was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    96
    30
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent meal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had the crabcakes as well, they were excellent. Had a great meal, great good, service very attentive but not intrusive. Great selection of wines as well. Certainly a great meal to be had....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here before a tour and we were pleasantly surprised! Our waiter was very friendly and patient( we had a child who could not make up there mind). I ordered the special which was horseradish crusted salmon and it was to die for! Our littlest one had chicken tenders and even those were delicious! We will be eating here again next time we are in Alexandria!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second best crabcakes ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking over the menu outside when a couple our age (50s) stepped out and raved about the crabcakes they just had (unsolicited). So we went in. It took a few minutes to be greeted by the host, but this was not foretelling the rest of the meal by any stretch.

Wife and I were seated right by the front window so we could people-watch while we chatted. Our waiter was the most attentive and informative server I can recall having (and we eat out 3x/week at various places).

We had a pinot noir from New Zealand that was very good (sorry, can't remember the name).
Wife ordered surf and turf from the regular menu which included a filet and crab cake. It's the 2nd best crabcake we've had ever (the best is at Shark in the Harbor, O.C. MD). Lots of lump crabmeat in it.
I had the seafood sampler (one of the day's specials) which included shrimp and scallop (in parchment), and a crab-topped lobster tail with seasoned bliss potatoes. It was excellent!
For dessert, we shared a slice of pecan pie. Also the best I've ever had...not overly-sweetend.

The restuarant has two floors (bathrooms upstairs) and the stair wall is covered in caricatures of folks I can only assume are locals (didn't recognize anyone's name). given our seats in the front of the house, didn't get to see what it looked like towards the back.

The cost was a bit high for what we're used to ($175 including drinks, tip), but considering the quality of the meal and service overall, well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Warehouse Bar & Grill has never let us down. Excellent food, professional yet friendly and attentive service and ambiance!!!!!!!! You can't beat the location and the quality of food and atmosphere. Love it Love it Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warehouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Warehouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warehouse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.