We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warehouse Bar & Grill

Warehouse Bar & Grill
214 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703 683 6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Warehouse Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: So. Fairfax
Transit: Free Old Town Trolley - From King St Metro to Lee Street. Metro bus and Dash Bus stops along King Street
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent meal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had the crabcakes as well, they were excellent. Had a great meal, great good, service very attentive but not intrusive. Great selection of wines as well. Certainly a great meal to be had....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    85
    24
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here before a tour and we were pleasantly surprised! Our waiter was very friendly and patient( we had a child who could not make up there mind). I ordered the special which was horseradish crusted salmon and it was to die for! Our littlest one had chicken tenders and even those were delicious! We will be eating here again next time we are in Alexandria!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second best crabcakes ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking over the menu outside when a couple our age (50s) stepped out and raved about the crabcakes they just had (unsolicited). So we went in. It took a few minutes to be greeted by the host, but this was not foretelling the rest of the meal by any stretch.

Wife and I were seated right by the front window so we could people-watch while we chatted. Our waiter was the most attentive and informative server I can recall having (and we eat out 3x/week at various places).

We had a pinot noir from New Zealand that was very good (sorry, can't remember the name).
Wife ordered surf and turf from the regular menu which included a filet and crab cake. It's the 2nd best crabcake we've had ever (the best is at Shark in the Harbor, O.C. MD). Lots of lump crabmeat in it.
I had the seafood sampler (one of the day's specials) which included shrimp and scallop (in parchment), and a crab-topped lobster tail with seasoned bliss potatoes. It was excellent!
For dessert, we shared a slice of pecan pie. Also the best I've ever had...not overly-sweetend.

The restuarant has two floors (bathrooms upstairs) and the stair wall is covered in caricatures of folks I can only assume are locals (didn't recognize anyone's name). given our seats in the front of the house, didn't get to see what it looked like towards the back.

The cost was a bit high for what we're used to ($175 including drinks, tip), but considering the quality of the meal and service overall, well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Warehouse Bar & Grill has never let us down. Excellent food, professional yet friendly and attentive service and ambiance!!!!!!!! You can't beat the location and the quality of food and atmosphere. Love it Love it Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best of Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

If you love Chesapeake crab any way you can get it, then this is a must visit. Start with the She Crab soup. Best anywhere! The crab cakes are big, meaty and delicious. And the soft shell crab I had was to die for. I eat at Warehouse as often as I can when I travel to DC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warehouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Warehouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warehouse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.