We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, food quality at Breakfast time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Table Talk Restaurant

Table Talk Restaurant
1623 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3406 (Old Town)
703-548-3989
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Old Town
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value, location, food quality at Breakfast time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Everything was good except the service was a bit disappointing. We sat at the bar and while there was plenty of help, we didn't get the best attention. The prices were good, and the quality very good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    48
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Another Alexandria Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a very good diner on Duke Street, heading west out of Old Town. Like the Royal in the north part of town, Table Talk has established itself as a good neighborhood restaurant with its traditional diner menu. Its loyal customers from the past now mix with the residents from new apartments and condos in the Carlyle area as well as office workers in the surrounding office buildings. A good breakfast with an large menu of options. Eggs, bacon and toast with the a hot cup of coffee is still the "go to" meal, although pancakes and omelets are good. A veteran wait staff led by the owner and his family are attentive and welcoming. Enjoy yourself on weekday or weekend mornings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not my favorite ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but I visited twice and was not impressed. I had an omelet both times and they were overly greasy and bland. The place is usually busy, but I would not recommend visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Old World Restaurant - with Bland Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

While I really, really wanted to love this inexpensive and exceedingly charming restaurant, the food was only average.

The omelets my daughter-in-law and I got were served with essentially raw onion and green pepper. They and my potatoes also needed salt and pepper - and I almost never season my food at a restaurant. The toast was somewhat dry, and the jam the Smuckers packets. The pancakes that the daughter-in-law and son shared were just okay, nothing really better than someone could make at home. Son got a bacon-wrapped hot dog, which appeared to be good. (I didn't try it and that fact that he ate it all doesn't really mean too much.)

We did love the coffee, the portions, and the prices. And the fact that they served breakfast at around 2 pm. We also loved the cute, quaint building (which appears to be going to be torn down and turned into an office / retail complex). And the waitress was friendly and prompt, and did not raise too much of an eyebrow when hubby brought a Starbucks in with him.

Perhaps their lunch is much better. If we could only go back and see before it's swallowed up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va beach va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Adorable place…great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Right in the middle of high rises, there sits this cute place! It's bustling but efficient….food was good. Would love to return!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table Talk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Table Talk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Talk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.