We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neighborhood Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria Pastry Shop & Cafe

Alexandria Pastry Shop & Cafe
3690 H King St., Bradley Shopping Center, Alexandria, VA 22302
703 578 4144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
743 reviews 743 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a favorite destination for Alexandrians in the west end of the city. Delicious pastries, cakes and cookies with excellent coffee draws people to eat, relax and talk. A nice selection of sandwiches and salads has moved the APS to become a cafe as well. Well-trained staff add to the ambience. A good place to order cakes for special occasions although these are a bit pricey.
But you will come back to enjoy a neigborly setting for a favorite treat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Used to be worth the money...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I used to attend this bakery regularly when I went to my hairdresser, located in the same shopping center.

Their food prices have escalated, and they now even charge for a pickle and a bag of chips with a simple sandwich order.

Their desserts are good, but with teenagers running the show, don't be so mighty as to charge an arm and a leg for a simple meal. Make your money off of your desserts, which you want to be known for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No manners, rude manager/owner...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

No manners, rude manager/owner... The person who runs that place (an older man) is never happy, never says Hi or Good-Bye. The pastries are not bad, but the atmosphere there is not very good. You don't feel welcome or appreciated. That person acts like he is doing you a favor by letting you in. Once I was asking a cashier something about pastries and prices - he rudely interrupted our conversation and abruptly gave me an answer. I don't think the cashier's answer was totally correct but there are other ways how to handle the situation. One time I overheard him speaking to an older couple. They had questions about catering an event, or something. At one point he replied to them something in lines of "because I said so". I think he is prior military (so am I) - with those interpersonal skills he should stay in the barracks. They always have a sign on their door "Help Wanted" - it is like a revolving door. I don't think it is a good place to work - that's why nobody stays there. When we moved to Alexandria, we went there a few times. But then we stopped. We don't want to sponsor unprofessionalism and rudeness. We are not going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Flaky Croissants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were in the area looking for a place to have a quick breakfast, so we stopped in. My husband and I both had a croissant with Canadian bacon, egg, and cheese. The staff member who waited on us was quite friendly and patient with us as we took a few minutes to decide what we wanted to eat. Our breakfast sandwiches were tasty and hot, and the croissants flaky - not the kind that are like bread that you get some places.

The cakes and pastries in the cases looked wonderful! I think I gained a few pounds just by looking! They also had a variety of pre-made sandwiches and salads available. Since this is a real bakery they only had bottled drinks (for juice and soft drinks). They do have coffee and hot tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“NO ordinary bakery---decadent pastries as well as cookies for the kids' classes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

No frills dining for lunch but everything is very good. The desserts are decadent for the most part. But also very well made and cheap cookies, breakfast treats

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria Pastry Shop & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria Pastry Shop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandria Pastry Shop & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.