We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Bistro

Asian Bistro
809 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3016 (Old Town)
703-836-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 615 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very good little restaurant. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent. It was very clean and the atmosphere was great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding, under rated resaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant on the main drag of old town Alexandria is fantastic. It offers a wonderful blend of Thai, Chinese and Vietnamese dishes combined with friendly, professional service. As a bonus, it offers a decent choice of wines and beer, along with a full bar. The spicy dishes were subtle, not attacking your taste buds before you had a chance to savor the many flavors in the dish. The appetizer sampler is a nice introduction to the meal, and I loved the Panaeng chicken dish. The ambience is not that of a high end French restaurant, but so what. I think the main reason this is not a "hot" restaurant is that the prices are reasonable, especially for this neighborhood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Very Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

With all the options in the area, it's a shame that this place didn't offer better service. At least half of the tables were empty, yet we had slow service, drinks never refilled, waitress spilled dressing all over the table & didn't even mention it, etc. When she brought our food, she asked whose was whose (this wasn't the guy who took our order). When we identified our dishes, she said, "Oh, I don't know the names of the food. Who got chicken?" It was obvious that she was either not in her usual position there in the restaurant or just didn't care.

Either way, we weren't impressed. Like I said, there are simply so many other options in the area. I wish we'd gone somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food. Good variety.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's not Chinese, but it has a variety of Asian food from different ethnic areas. Everything from Sushi to prepared foods. We have been several times and each time the food was good. The service has always been acceptable. The place is decorated nicely, it's quiet, and soothing. Try to get a window table so that you can people watch while you eat. The hot tea is very good. Try them. I think you will like it. Prices are normal for what you get and it's not over priced. Much better sushi than the place a few doors down, Flying Fish, which is really a steak/seafood restaurant that serves Sushi (which has never been good when I've been there).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“tasty pan Asian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Vegetables were crisp and well prepared. Lots of vegetarian and seafood choices. Waiter guided us well in choosing dishes we would like. Not fancy, but good solid Asian food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.