We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection, food and prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Bistro

Asian Bistro
809 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3016 (Old Town)
703-836-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good selection, food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Asian Bistro does pan-Asian -- from Indian to Thai to Chinese -- and all quite well. Having lived in Thailand for 2 years, I'm fairly picky, and I was very pleased with the chicken larb lettuce wraps and the red curry. We also got generic vegetarian spring rolls, which I'm usually not all that fond of -- but they paired them with a pineapple sauce that was unexpected and made the dish much more interesting. For our group of 4 the total lunch bill was under $50 -- and we'd definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good spot for Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed some good dishes here. First, we shared summer rolls- good but not the best. The pad Thai was very good and my green curry was great -spicy and flavorful. Although it was crowded service was good. We will return .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We loved the Asian Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family and I chose to dine at the Asian Bistro based on the Tripadvisor reviews. It turned out to be the best meal we have had so far in Alexandria! The service was great without being overbearing, the restaurant was clean and nicely appointed and the menu was extensive. We ordered the Thai Lettuce Wraps, they were spicy and delicious, my lips were tingling from the heat. We also had the Summer Rolls, Tuna Roll, and Hamachi for appetizers. All of the choices were fresh and very tasty. For entrees, we ordered Bulgogi, Thai Basil Chicken, Drunken Noodles and Red Curry Chicken. There wasn't a scrap left, we loved it all. The Larb (lettuce wraps) were spicier than we anticipated and the Red Curry Chicken was milder than we expected. Great news, they deliver within a three mile radius!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. Very reasonably priced lunch specials! I had the veggie dumplings and the pho and my husband had rice paper spring rolls and some sort of beef dish. Good food, good price, good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

On our way to another restaurant down on King Street, we walked by Asian Bistra. Decided to eat there because it was late, and we had great results. We ordered sushi, (tuna roll) and was delighted with the crunchy texture that came from within -- the seed weed was fried first before being used. This was one preparation that we did not had before .. Loved it!

We also had a couple other Thai dishes that turned out well. This will be a restaurant that we will return to when in Alexandria.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.