We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-day breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bread & Chocolate

Bread & Chocolate
611 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3105 (Old Town)
703-548-0992
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 647 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Old Town
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All-day breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The sausage, egg on croissant sandwich is buttery and flavorful. Yukon gold potatoes are on the side and they bring you a basket of baked bread while you're waiting. Lots of sandwiches to choose from such as captures , cordon bleu, southwestern and more. Two French linen covered bistro tables out front and in the midst of shops. I'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awful eggs Benedict! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stopped at "Bread & Chocolate" to have a quick breakfast on a rainy day. Service seemed very friendly and prices reasonable. I ordered eggs Benedict. I got them overcooked and in a mysteriously watery dish...quite disappointing!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Found this place while staying down the street at the Kimpton. We had breakfast there twice during our stay and everything we had was very good. The portions were very nice (a little much for my 92 year old grandmother) and the prices were good. One visit there was almost no one in the restaurant, the next time it was very busy. Both time we had wonderful service. The servers were attentive and went out of their way to make our 2 year old happy.

Also ended up getting some items to go from the pastry case that were delicious as well. Definitely a great spot to grab a bite for breakfast or brunch. Perfect for those staying nearby at the Kimpton, and just far enough from the water and Torpedo factory that if you walk down there afterwards it's a great little walk to walk off some of the generous portions you get here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was with friends and family and decided to stop here because of the name of the place. Service was very good, they were very attentive. I ordered a cappuccino and my partner a double expresso. Coffees were good and strong. I ordered Hummus Tartine that came with a salad. The hummus was very balanced and so was the dressing for the salad. They brought a basket with different breads and they were delicious and fresh. Everybody at the table were very pleased with their meals. However, what made it for me was the chocolate cake I took home. It was delightful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday brunch that won't empty your wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our table had the Shakshuka (fantastic!) and the Turkey Hash (with beets! Also fantastic). These folks go well beyond their name in terms of their selection. Coffee was outstanding and piping hot. Friendly, engaging service; just the right amount of checking and refilling.

We've enjoyed Sunday brunch at a number of Old Town Alexandria locations, but this is our new favorite. Looking forward to going back for the pfannkuchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate also viewed

 

Been to Bread & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread & Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.