We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Lebanese/Mediterranean food with questionable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pita House

Pita House
719 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 684-9194
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 644 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Lebanese/Mediterranean food with questionable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had dinner at the Pita House at the end of March. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The hummus was excellent. However, our entire dinner came out wrong. When we asked the wait staff to correct our food orders.....We were told to just eat the food and if we did not like it, they would take it back. When my daughter asked for them to redo her gyro (ordered w/ no additional toppings or sauce).... They still bought it back to the table with yogurt sauce and told her she would not enjoy it without the sauce....we just simply couldn't get a plain gyro!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“hearty mediterranean cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My deep love of mediterranean food takes me back to this restaurant almost every week: the meals are delicious and hearty, the house wine is surprisingly good, and the service is fast and efficient - the atmosphere could probably be better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice menu and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch at Pita house. Nice selection and tasty food. Good location and walking distance to many shops and galleries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was walking by this restaurant in Old Town Alexandria and decided to give them a try. The staff was very helpful and welcoming as soon as I walked in, and the atmosphere was really nice and comfortable. I was very pleased with the food....it was flavorful and the portions were good. The food was a little pricey, depending on your selection, but I will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but good vegan fare as well as food for carnivores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time visiting, will be back. Went here for the Vegan options with non-vegan friends. The vegetarian sampler appetizer was outstanding. fantastic varietythat included falafel, tabouleh, grape leaves, baba ghanouj, hummus, rice and lentils and one other i can't remember. They have a huge selection of vegan and vegetarian salads, as well as foods for carnivores. the baklava was dry, but overall, the rest of our meals were superb. And the bill was a bit of a shock. that is what keeps this from being an excellent rating. The service is was superb, our waiter was very attentive and described everything we ordered in detail. would def go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita House also viewed

 

Been to Pita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.