We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hearty mediterranean cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pita House

Pita House
719 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 684-9194
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 654 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“hearty mediterranean cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My deep love of mediterranean food takes me back to this restaurant almost every week: the meals are delicious and hearty, the house wine is surprisingly good, and the service is fast and efficient - the atmosphere could probably be better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice menu and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch at Pita house. Nice selection and tasty food. Good location and walking distance to many shops and galleries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was walking by this restaurant in Old Town Alexandria and decided to give them a try. The staff was very helpful and welcoming as soon as I walked in, and the atmosphere was really nice and comfortable. I was very pleased with the food....it was flavorful and the portions were good. The food was a little pricey, depending on your selection, but I will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but good vegan fare as well as food for carnivores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time visiting, will be back. Went here for the Vegan options with non-vegan friends. The vegetarian sampler appetizer was outstanding. fantastic varietythat included falafel, tabouleh, grape leaves, baba ghanouj, hummus, rice and lentils and one other i can't remember. They have a huge selection of vegan and vegetarian salads, as well as foods for carnivores. the baklava was dry, but overall, the rest of our meals were superb. And the bill was a bit of a shock. that is what keeps this from being an excellent rating. The service is was superb, our waiter was very attentive and described everything we ordered in detail. would def go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tough to judge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went for dinner on a busy Saturday night. Menu variety was good and some of the dishes were very flavorful. The downside was that the food was generally over-cooked. I suspect that in anticipation of a heavy Saturday night crowd, much of the food was prepared in advance - resulting in overdone rice, dry chicken, etc. Some of the dishes consist of fried dough with various fillings. The fillings tasted good, but the dough was too thick and also over cooked. I would give this restaurant a try but not on a busy night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita House also viewed

 

Been to Pita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.