We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad to hear Po Siam is closing June 2013!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Po Siam Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Po Siam Thai Restaurant
3807 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22305-2410
703-548-3925
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Kitcat22
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“So sad to hear Po Siam is closing June 2013!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Reliably very good Thai meals, usually $11-15 for an entree. Very helpful servers, attentive, kind. This neighborhood favorite will be sadly missed. Retiring owner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real neighborhood favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here regularly for a year. I've ordered many different things and they've all been quite good. There's none of that pre-fab food feel I get from other, more trendy Thai places with bigger DC area names. Not too pricey and the execution is consistently very good. The menu is pretty broad, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Po Siam is one of the best Thai restaurants out there. My family and I go there quite often, and always enjoy the consistently good food. The service is friendly and fast, and the restaurant decorations are very pleasant. We have tried so many different Thai places, but this restaurant is one of our favorites.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in a relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in on the spur of the moment and are glad we did. There's a wide selection of authentic Thai food, and the ingredients are fresh. Friendly service and nice atmosphere (although the small TV hanging near the bar area playing the Simpsons was a bit of a distraction. Fortunately, it was just closed captions).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still our Favorite Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been going to Po Siam for over 20 years and it is still our favorite Thai restaurant. The food is extremely fresh and well prepared and the service is impecable. The owners are very particular about their cooking and do much of it themselves. They will give you a very warm welcome and will provide delicious Thai food. We often order extra food so we have leftovers to take home for the next day. It is an excellent value for your money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Po Siam Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.