We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocklands

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rocklands
25 S Quaker Ln, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-778-9663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious & Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. We got a 3-meat platter and a 1/2 rack of pork spare ribs. Each meat was fantastic-but the ribs stole the show. They were enormous and perfectly cooked. Way too much for one person (even one hungry person), but we made it through :) Each of the sides was delicious and the price was good for such large and delicious portions. The atmosphere was nice-the music varied and was nice to listen to while waiting for your food. Nothing too loud or obnoxious. A great lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chicken, Brisket & Rings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent barbeque sauce, well balanced flavors. Rings had a bit of zing that was great. Chicken and brisket were OK. Looking forward to ribs or pulled pork.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

While in Alexandria recently, I had the opportunity to try Rocklands. Let's just say that the food was wonderful! The servings were more than ample, and the owner took time to visit every table and find out how things were. He didn't just stop by, but actively engaged us in conversation. I'll be back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price, unexpected location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate here with extended family and tried several of the barbeque options (beef, chicken, pork chop, pulled pork) and several different sides (baked beans, cornbread, french fries, sweet potato fries, pecan pie). We were very pleased with the barbeque, I preferred the pulled pork to the beef brisket or pork chop, but all were well received. Barbeque is always a matter of personal taste. The sides were as expected (nothing special) but the baked beans did stand out as very good. The pecan pie was above average, but not exceptional.

We recommend this location and will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Greasy ribs, tasteless sides”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After hearing about how great Rocklands was for years, we decided to give it a try. Perhaps this location was not the best to start with. Hidden off of Quaker Lane it had more of an industrial park feel to it. The ribs were a 2 out of 5 stars, very greasy and fatty. The sauces were no help whatsoever and the overall taste had a chemical flavor to it. The mac and cheese rated 1 star and was all grease, like it had been sitting around for days, we only had a couple of bites it was so saturated. The green beans were a 2 star side dish, all the taste had been cooked out them.

The sweet tea was a 3 star tea, but like everything else, was just weak.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocklands also viewed

 

Been to Rocklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.