We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Completely Satisfying As Twice Before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersSilver level
sf bay area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not Completely Satisfying As Twice Before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I raved to my family and friends about my wonderful, previous two stays at the Wyndham Alexandria. So it was a bit of surprise I was not overwhelmingly satisfied with my week's stay ending December 5. First we arrived at 10am after flying for 7 hours, knowing our unit 708 would not be ready. Left our bags in the back office and took the metro on our weekly passes (great buy) to Arlington Cemetery. Came back at 2 pm for check-in as we were VIP Platinum. Room still not ready and told to come back at 4 pm. No problem, went to lunch at the Fish Market in Old Town Alexandria. Came back at 4 sharp. Room still not ready. Told to come back in 35 minutes. So we crashed in the Theater Room, exhausted and in need of refreshing badly and at 4:45 pm finally allowed keys and room. Then the timeshare people over the course of the week called four times for me to attend their 30 min survey presentation. I told them no the first time and that my spouse was not with me, only extended family. I do not know why they were so persistent as we had upgraded in February. Then on the night before our departure at 11 pm, mind you, we received a loud knock on our door by a new front desk person asking if we were Mr. Greer in 708. We are Chinese and said we are not the Greers. She then asked who is the registered guest to this unit. I told her me. She then simply left with no explanation. To say we were bewildered is an understatement. Then to top it off, as we checked out of our room at 9:30 am the next day (check-out is 10 am), the maid's cart was sitting right outside our door. The maid was waiting nearby. I bet that room was cleaned faster than on our first day of arrival. We will return to this Wyndham without hesitation, suffice to say, but a bit wary next time. The whole staff has been wonderful and incredible before. Hopefully this was a one time strange encounter.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
50
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The Wyndam was a fabulous place to stay. The room was spacious, clean, well equipped and the location couldn't be better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved how convenient the room was to the Metro. The Metro is super easy to use (you can find great information at Metro's website including a trip planner) and you can get to the Capitol Mall in less than 30 minutes via Metro. We were able to walk to many shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel gave us a list of stores near by, but it was more useful if you had a car. We found a CVS, Walgreens and Safeway in walking distance (mile or less one way) and there is a Whole Foods even closer. There is also a King Street Trolley that will take you in the direction of the stores. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was very nice and very clean. We enjoyed the friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otgwk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We arrived on Friday at around 3pm. We were able to check-in to our unit quickly and efficiently. In order to park our car, we had to stop at guest services, which was basically a way to try and get us to sign up for the time-share spiel (aka 30 minute survey). We did not opt to partake of the survey. Our unit was very nice (a 2-bedroom deluxe). It was clean and well stocked with toiletries, papertowels, new sponge, etc. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, although we didn't try to cook any big meals.
There was one washer and 2 dryers on each floor with laundry detergent available at the front desk. We really enjoyed the location in Old Town. The King St. trolley was great for traveling down to the waterfront and to the hotels and shops. The King St. metro station was extremely convenient and easy to get to the DC attractions. We did walk to the Whole Foods market and stock up breakfast foods and beverages. My husband carried the heavy items. We enjoyed a number of restaurants in Alexandria. The Brabo Tasting Room was our favorite. Laporta (upscale casual) and Hank's Oyster Bar (relaxed) were good too. We would not recommend Jackson 20 (we thought it was pricey for what we got).
The only cons I would note are: the pool is closed from 10am-4pm every day and the game room does not seem to be open (looks like they are storing stuff in there) If you are planning to take break from sight-seeing and rest your feet don't plan on hanging out at the Wyndham it is definitely NOT a resort type timeshare. One other thing to note, we had one of those "air fresheners" that periodically spray a scent into the air in our dining area. This was a little obnoxious when you were eating and could bother someone who is sensitive to perfumes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is actual a time share property so be advised you will be asked to attend the typical time share session - but you can refuse with no issues. We had a huge suite with full kitchen and dining room table, TV and sofa bed in one room and then a large bed room w/ a jacuzzi practically in the room and a shared large bathroom. Location was perfect - 3 min walk to metro and to Whole Foods. About 15 minute walk to all sorts of restaurants and the heart of Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Location, location, location! We finally got to stay at the Wyndham, Old Alexandria Resort and what a wonderful experience. If you are flying into Reagan Washington National Airport you do not even need a rental car. This resort is walking distance from the King Street Metro stop, making it easy to get into Washington DC for sight-seeing. There are a variety of excellent restaurants nearby either on King Street or just off King Street heading toward the river. Walking is easy in the Old Alexandria area, but if you are unable to walk long distances there is a free trolley that runs on King Street from the Metro station to the river with several stops in-between.
We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe which was large and beautifully decorated in rich colonial colors. It would appear that the furnishings have all been recently updated except for TV’s, but who has time to watch TV in this area with all the sight-seeing to do and evening concerts and theatre to attend? We slept on one of the most comfortable king size beds we have ever slept in with pillows that I wanted to take home! There were only two of us, but we had five sets of thick new white bath towel sets. It is the first Wyndham Resort that we have stayed in that did not have washer and dryer in the unit. However, there was a laundry room on every floor with complimentary detergent from the front desk and the use of the washer and dryer were free. There was a small computer lab with two computers on the 2nd floor for those who don’t bring laptops with them, again free. You could get wi-fi in the theater room next to the computer lab if you brought your own computer. The theater room had nice furnishings, but the screen in that room should really be larger. For those who want to go to the gym or swim, you can use those facilities at the attached Hilton. If you didn’t want to go out to eat or cook (A nice Whole Foods is walking distance.) you could order room service from The Hilton. The staff was very accommodating while we were there. It is a small resort and we have found it difficult to get a room, but we highly recommend it to anyone who can get a reservation!
Some people would complain that it doesn’t have every amenity possible. Considering the types of things you plan to do when going to the Washington DC area, you do not need an extravagant pool to lounge around in all day while waiters bring you tropical drinks. The real estate is very expensive in this area, so Wyndham has managed to make amenities available in unique ways, such as sharing the Hilton Hotel and having laundry rooms instead of washer & dryer in every unit.

  • Liked — Convenience to every place we wanted to go
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

This was a great place to stay, the only thing missing was a decent pool and a hot tub to relax in after touring DC all day.
Everyone was courteous and helpful. The metro, practically across the street, made it easy to travel to other locations, for restaurants and touring. Places to eat were within walking distance and so was a grocery store.
Enjoyed my stay and would not mind staying there again.

  • Liked — Metro was practically across the street
  • Disliked — Swimming pool was only 3 ft deep and no hot tub.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.